A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

French Fries ON The Burger Is The Way To Go

I can go vegetarian and even vegan at times, but this Midwest girl can’t resist the meat of the Heartland once in a while.  My family also enjoys the meat dishes especially the boys.  But here we are, my nine year old girl and I,  just the two of us hanging out.  It was getting pretty late for dinner and I suggested hamburgers because that would go pretty quickly.  She gave me that “nyah what ever” look and then I said “With french fries?”

Well her face lit up and she said “Oh yeah!  I love it when you make fries!”

I had to chuckle a little.  It wasn’t too long ago that going to McDonalds was answer to fast food, the “Oh yeah!”  of burgers and fries (I do have to say, McDonalds has the best fries around.  It’s the only thing on their menu I like).  I’ve become ever leery of restaurants though, and how they prepare food, what’s in their food, so I’ve been cooking more and more of what we eat at home.  Cooking for just me and my daughter wasn’t too much hassle besides.

I started with some slices of French bread and toasted them in a skillet with the lightest smear of butter on each slice.  Frying up a few burgers was easy enough.  Doing the fries was also pretty easy.  I just cut up two potatoes into 1/4 inch strips, soaked them in a bit of vinegar and water, dried them off and tossed them in a pan of hot vegetable oil for a few minutes.

The last part was assembling everything…bread, burger cheese (I had goat cheese and Julia had jack cheese), tomato, and yes, we put the fries right on the sandwich.  The few that were left we had on the side.  I had a few of those grilled mushrooms left over from the other day and they made a really good side dish as well.

We girls had a fine dinner together talking about the last day of school and that third hamburger was tucked away in the ‘fridge for her dad when he got home from working the evening shift.  I’m so glad none of us had to pay a visit to the drive-thru. 

4 responses

  1. avian101

    These burgers look terrific, fries and mushrooms! French bread and ‘meters! Hoooee! Sounds mighty good to me! Thanks for the Rx Diva! 🙂

    May 21, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    • Yes, take two ‘mater slices and call me in the morning…I’ll have another Rx 🙂

      May 21, 2012 at 5:52 pm

  2. You know I never thought of putting French fries into the burger sandwich, love the mushrooms addition.

    May 21, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    • Thank you Norma. I got the idea from my son who visited NYC. He said he heard the idea came from truckers who didn’t have time to eat them separately. As far as mushrooms, I try to feature some type of plant form (or two or three) in every plate I serve.

      May 21, 2012 at 10:49 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

