A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Barbecue Responsibly

This weekend I want to barbecue but I don’t want to have my teeth fall out and my blood sugar to go through the roof doing it.  Some kinds of barbecue sauces are better than others but even so, after reading the label I’m left completely crestfallen.  I had a very popular brand of sauce in the fridge.  It is really tasty but the first ingredient is that health ruining stuff I call high fructose corn poison.  It’s everywhere!  It’s the meth amphetamine of sugars!  It’s causing diabetes across the planet!  It should be illegal!!!  I’m done with you Sweet Baby Ray!  I can’t responsibly feed you to my family anymore!

I threw it in the trash can and went to work making a baste of my own.  I started by simmering some finely chopped onions in a spot of olive oil.  When they were nicely browned, I added a 6 oz. can of tomato paste, about half a cup of water, maybe a little bit more, and some minced fresh garlic.  I let that bubble a minute then added 1/3 cup vinegar, 1/4 cup each of soy sauce, and Worcestershire, then a tablespoon of yellow mustard and 3/4 cup brown sugar…you could add up to a cup for sweeter sauce.  I let that bubble up another minute.  Then it was time for some spice.  In went a teaspoon each of black pepper, dried parsley from last year’s garden, paprika, and cayenne pepper.  It needed salt…just a pinch, and a good splash of lemon juice to brighten it.  Last I added a bay leaf and allowed the sauce to simmer for a while until it thickened into a sauce worthy of the best cuts of meat.

After using only one half-breast of chicken in our dumplings yesterday, I used the other two halves from the package to try out my sauce.  I fired up the grill and basted each breast when they were almost done.

It was a great sunny day perfect for grilling.  The chicken was done just in time for Jeff to get home from work and try out the HFCS free sauce on a bite of chicken…and another bite…and another…then a sandwich…then, well, lets just say he appreciated it very much.

 

2 responses

  1. avian101

    Wow! You take things seriously I see. I don’t usually eat BBQ sauce because it’s too sweet for me. I like to marinade the meats (Beef or Chicken) with different style seasonings and the I slow fire grill them, I use the marinade juice to baste the meat while it grills. I have bought 2 kinds of beef meat for the weekend, skirt meat and flank steak to be marinated and grilled. Have a great Memorial Day! 🙂

    May 26, 2012 at 9:24 am

    • Oooo, that marinate and slow grillin’ sound good. I don’t use sauce much, but there’s gonna be a whole lot of Q’in goin’ on this weekend…thought it a good subject.

      Those steaks are the best. I think you are in for a delicious weekend my friend 🙂

      May 26, 2012 at 10:27 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

