A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Pesto, And My New Favorite Use

Since school is out, I find I’ve got so many places to go.  There have been many “Take a dish” functions and I find this one very portable and very popular.  Thanks to our new found maker of fresh goat cheese in our neighborhood, Ben, I bring along a pesto and chevre dip to the shindig.

It is so simple to make pesto in the processor.  I have a mini one that works fine.  Just throw all these into it:

  • about a cup of fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup pine nuts or pecans or walnuts even
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 segment of garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste

Let everything whirl around in the processor a while until you have a paste.   If too thin, add more basil and cheese… if too thick, a little more oil.  You can make a batch of pesto and store it in the refrigerator a couple of weeks, or freeze it for a few months in a zipper top freezer bag…make the bag really flat and almost airtight, then press little sections in the pesto so you can break out just what you need.

The next step for this dip is to add a good tablespoon of  pesto to about 8 oz. of the chevre  (8 0z. cream cheese with 2 oz. Swiss cheese grated and mixed into into it would be a fair substitute) with some minced dried onion.  After sitting in the fridge a while all this dip needs is some crackers and it’s ready to travel. 

6 responses

  1. avian101

    I love pesto, the green sauce more than the red one, when I go to Italian restaurants I order Pesto Linguini my favorite! We use basil a lot at home, for salads or meals. I’ll get the cheese and try this one! Thank you Diva! 🙂 Is everything ok by you? We had Tyler’s party at the pool on Saturday. It was a success! Tyler is 2 years old now!

    June 4, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    • Oh, anything with basil is good right? I love to just smell it! There’s a bunch growing in a pot right outside our front door with some parsley and cherry tomatoes…it’s a crazy porch garden out there this year…half flowers, half edible.
      Congrats to Tyler! Glad you had a good weekend with him.
      We went to a neighbors for a block party. I brought a cherry pie to that, but this dip will go to the next get together.

      June 4, 2012 at 1:57 pm

  2. Amanda m

    Christy. Im so impressed!! I’ve been really getting into cooking and finding fresher, ‘real food’ alternatives. I love all at you’re doing!! I’m SO interested in this guy who has the eggs and cheese! Or hey, if you raise chickens yourself, I’ll buy from you! 🙂 that would be amazing! -amanda (down the street) 😉

    June 5, 2012 at 11:52 am

    • Well hi neighbor! Thanks for stoppin’ by! I think you have a great yard for chickens. I’ve dreamed of doing it for quite a while, even in our dinky backyard. I will give you Ben’s info in the meantime. Next time we’ll have you follow along…The little guy (and heck, the big guy too) would love seeing Ben’s urban homestead.

      June 5, 2012 at 1:29 pm

  3. Amanda

    Taylor would love that. 🙂

    June 22, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    • Hi Amanda, Thanks for stoppin’ by! Crackers and cheese is a must for the little guys. My girls devoured the stuff, but goat cheese is too out of the ordinary for my big guy. Now if it was Velveeta and pesto he’d totally go for it. Take care, Christy

      June 22, 2012 at 3:01 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

