A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

I Bought Too Many Strawberries, Now What?

When a pound of strawberries is only a dollar, one tends to buy a lot more than usual.  Well, this one bought three pounds.  It was great having strawberries on everything,   by themselves, and in salads for the first pound but while they were really fresh when purchased, they were loosing that freshness each passing day.  Strawberries tend to mold quickly so before that happened I chopped up the pound and a half of them that was left, threw them in a pot with a cup of sugar, a cup of water, six tablespoons of pectin powder, and boiled and mashed them for about 15 minutes on medium high heat.  I then put the pot on simmer while I dealt with the jars in which I would be preserving these berries.

The following photos will illustrate the steps to making a small batch (4 eight oz. jars) of preserves that will taste fresh from the garden even a couple of years from now.  The stores brands usually add a ton of that high fructose corn poison, and they don’t taste near as delicious.   With fresh ripe fruit and regular sugar…a lot less than any store bought brand, you will be able to taste the delicious Summery flavor of the fruit with just the right amount of sweetness.

I hope you will experience this easy to make treat for yourselves.  In the dead of Winter is a great time to pull one out of the pantry and taste the bounty of  Summer all over again.  Enjoy the show!

4 responses

  1. avian101

    You always make things look simple! I don’t eat regular sugar or preserves because my glucose is borderline and the Doc says I should stay away from sweets. But they look so invitingly delicious. I bought an electric grill last week and we’ve been doing almost every meal with it. It’s fantastic. On fathers day Lucy made flank steak marinaded with peppercorns and grilled slow heat and at them with small latkes and some of the pesto penne salad (Your recipe) and let me tell you that It wasn’t enough for me, I wanted a whole cow! 🙂 Yesterday she made Tilapia fillets grilled that were out of this world (Probably Neptune) As you can see I’m enjoying good food same as you do. Thank you my friendly Diva!

    June 19, 2012 at 7:36 pm

  2. Hmm. I wonder if you could do this with artificial sweetener? I’ll have to experiment with that and let you know. I’m trying to cut down on the sugars too right now. I just couldn’t let those good berries go to waste. The kids will tear through that like you tore through that flank steak. Grillin’s where it’s at! Lucy’s tilapia sounds great! I’ll have to meet you all on Neptune.

    June 19, 2012 at 7:47 pm

  3. You sure make this look easy! And they are so pretty on your window sill.. beautiful strawberry jewels! xo Smidge

    June 19, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    • Thanks Smidge! I don’t have an industrial size pressure cooker to do the big batches…some day though. I work this little one works pretty hard… it makes it really easy to do small batches of things. I can’t wait until the blackberries are ripe. xo Christy

      June 19, 2012 at 10:26 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

