A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Skewered Chicken Wraps Make A Great Summery Lunch

I was cutting the grass and watering the gardens today.  It’s just a beautiful breezy day and 85° outside but after doing all that work I got pretty hot and didn’t even want to go close to the stove.  Luckily after grilling some chicken breasts last night, there was one left over that I put in the ‘fridge.  This would make a great lunch for my daughter and me today but we’re kind of sick of sandwiches…plus, I’m trying to cut down on the bread and carbs right now.

So the solution was to use a tortilla instead.   I started by spreading a thin layer of mayonnaise, then thinly sliced pieces of the chicken breast on that, then a layer of cheese, then romaine lettuce on the top.  I folded up about a third of the tortilla onto itself, then took the folded end and began to roll it all the way up until it made a tube about the size of a paper towel roll.

To help it stay rolled, I rolled the wrap up in a paper towel and set it in the refrigerator for a little while.  When it was time to eat, I sliced off the tapered ends and then sliced about four little pinwheel sandwiches about an inch in width.  To keep them from flapping open and falling apart, I stuck them on a bamboo skewer atop a leaf of romaine and surrounded it with some summery fruits and veggies.

You could do dozens of variations of this with lunch meats, different spreads, and different vegetables…just as long as they can bend.  I’d like to try this again some time and take these cute little pinwheels to a party or a picnic some day.  After working up a sweat then having a nice shower, this cooling lunch hit the spot, AND it wasn’t too bad on the caloric intake.

4 responses

  1. avian101

    If I eat only that my stomach would be growling 1/2 hour later! I’ve been losing weight by eating most of what I eat regularly but in less quantity. My wife is doing the same and she’s losing weight too. Smaller portions and almost no snacks, more fruits diced an mixed like melon, apple, mango, pineapple, strawberry and grapes. At random combinations. Half a banana in the morning only. We feel strong and healthy but a few pounds less would make us feel better yet. I’m glad that you’re doing fine too! Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

    June 22, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    • Good for you and Lucy! Dieting stinks to me. This ol’ diva is drawn to all things food…particularly high carb foods. I’ve found though, that if I stay away from them I don’t get as hungry. Since that recent entry about cooking in the wilderness, I’ve lost 7 pounds…I hate it though…I want PIE! 😉

      June 22, 2012 at 6:35 pm

  2. Thats a really fun idea for a party appetizer as well. Have a great weekend. BAM

    June 22, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    • Thanks BAM! Yes, I can so see these on single frilly pics on a platter the next time I have a get-together. Enjoy your weekend too 🙂

      June 23, 2012 at 9:57 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

