A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

I Just Started Cooking Vegetables And It Turned Into Tortilla Soup

Today, I wanted a lunch that could be done quickly, would satisfy my veggie craving, and be bursting with flavor.   I didn’t know what I wanted but I wanted it to have big flavor.  I just started chopping stuff up and tossing it in a pot with some olive oil.  It would turn into something eventually.  I added some broth and spices and it turned out to be tortilla soup before I knew it.

Here are the ingredients that went into my soup du jour:

  • 1 carrot thinly sliced
  • 1 small onion in tiny dice
  • 1 rib of celery in tiny dice
  • 1/2 bell pepper  also in tiny dice
  • 1 small head of broccoli using only the florets
  • a dash each of salt, pepper, and garlic powder
  • 1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes juice and all
  • 32 oz. beef, chicken or vegetable broth (I used beef)
  • 1/2 packet taco seasoning mix (or two good tablespoons of a taco seasoning blend of your own)
  • 4 corn tortillas
  • 1 tablespoon for cooking veggies and 2 to fry the tortillas

Start by heating a pot with 1 tablespoon of the oil on high and add the aromatic vegetables (onion, carrot, and celery).  Cook them until they are soft and browned slightly.  Add the bell pepper and broccoli and continue stirring on a lower flame, add the seasonings, stir them in and then add the tomatoes with the juice to deglaze the pan of all those caramelized flavors.  Now, add the broth and the taco seasoning (you can make your own with chili powder, cumin, cayenne pepper, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper to avoid the MSG and other weird stuff) and let everything simmer a while.

To make the tortilla strips, stack 4 on top of each other and slice into strips.  Heat the other 2 tablespoons oil in a skillet, toss in the tortilla strips one third at a time, and fry them until they become crisp and golden brown.  Drain them on a paper towel and salt them immediately.

Now all we need to do is dip up a bowl and garnish it with a handful of crispy tortilla strips.  This old recipe I just made up takes about 20 minutes start to finish and tastes really good.  Even though it is summer and nearly 100°, I love it when something is spicy enough to make my brow sweat a little.  The thing about making your own food is that you are in control  of how much heat, salt, and sweetness.  This diva likes it hot! 

4 responses

  1. This sounds so good.. it’s drizzly here and a bowlful would be so lovely right now!

    June 24, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    • How lucky you are to have rain. We’re pretty parched here in St. Louis…liquid in any form is good. I guess that’s why I made soup 🙂

      June 24, 2012 at 5:17 pm

  2. avian101

    I love soups! I was raise at a home were my Mom always had soup before the main dish. The day she’d say “There’s no soup!” there would be a riot at home! She’d just tease us once in a while to test how much we like her soups! She’s a Diva like you too! I think she was related to Ratatouille from the movie. 🙂 Thanks for the recipe!

    June 24, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    • I love soup too…so many good things in one pot. Your ma sounds like my kind of gal! 🙂

      June 24, 2012 at 5:14 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

