A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

And Now For Some Creamy Mushroom Soup

I’ve been cutting back on calories lately in the hopes of dropping a few inches around the middle.  There’s the insurance physical and a vacation to Houston coming up and I’m always looking for food that won’t hinder my progress (10 lbs now, woot!) but is big on flavor.  Here is another soup that is absolutely creamy, savory, and quite satisfying… even though each bowl is a mere 150 calories.

The next few pictures will show you how easy it is to achieve this rich and flavorful soup.  In a 5 quart saucepan, I saute the onions and mushrooms in a tablespoon of olive oil. I like to use Baby ‘Bella mushrooms.  They have a meatier texture.From the spice rack I grab the salt, pepper, garlic powder, corriander, thyme, cayenne pepper, and paprika and give a few healthy shakes of each.  Man, it smells good!Keep everything moving over the high heat until the onions and mushrooms are golden brown. Quickly add 32 oz of your favorite broth.  I used chicken, but beef or vegetable broth will also be fine.  The broth lifts that caramelized goodness from the bottom of the pan.I measure 1/2 cup cream and add three tablespoons flour and mix well then add it to the pot.  I also add an additional cup of cold water and three more tablespoons flour…it needed more thickening.  Always dissolve  flour into cold liquid before adding to the hot liquid or you will end up with little floating white lumps in your soup.Let it come to a boil, and turn down the heat to simmer.  It will thicken a bit after a while.  In the meantime I go outside to snip some fresh parsley.

 Now add the freshly chopped parsley to the pot, let it simmer about 15 more minutes and soon you will have a bowl of the most delicious soup.

You’d think that while we are experiencing  108° temperatures outside, soup would be the last thing  I’d want to eat.  I’m outside a lot and quite used to the heat.  108° is and all time record for St. Louis, in June and it is a bit extreme.  I have no desire to go out and do yard-work, but inside, in the air-conditioning, I find myself feeling a bit chilly.  So to strike a balance this soup really hits the spot.It’s time to get a bowl now…I like my soup with a little extra pepper.  Have a cool weekend!

2 responses

  1. avian101

    This of course ia another avorite of mine, when we go food shopping I’m the one that picks the mushrooms as well as the ginger, all fruits and bok choi or napa. The avocados, bananas and mangos I pick not yet ripe so we can have them all week. I’m very good at this. Sometimes I mark the fruits with numbers according to maturity. We’re going through a heat wave too added humidity to it! Yesterday I mowed the grass in my backyard and I think I lost like 10 lbs. of liquid! I was soaked in sweat! I’m doing great with my diet, I can see the love handles almost gone, my clothes are loose fitting now. Good luck for you too. Get ready for the bikini when you go to the beach! hubba, hubba! 🙂

    June 29, 2012 at 6:48 pm

  2. Ha! At my age the bikini is a thing of the past…I’ll let the next generation take that stage…and they are doing it well. I’ll be OK in my one piece, thanks to good soups! Glad you are making such progress also, but keep yourself cool out in that brutal heat! Have a good weekend.

    June 30, 2012 at 12:27 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

