A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Potatoless Potato Salad

Potatoes are great…when you add butter, or when you make a creamy potato salad slathered in mayonnaise.  But mixing carbs with fat is the worst thing if you are looking to trim down like me.  I’ve found a solution that has the same taste as potato salad but almost no carbs.  I used steamed cauliflower as a potato substitute.  With a few other finely diced veggies and about half the mayonnaise, this was a reasonable (and potatoless) version of what I really wanted,  (to be perfectly honest, what I really want is a doughnut with chocolate icing and sprinkles, and a scoop of mint chip ice cream ) but this is a great way to cheat on my diet without really cheating.

Here is what I used:

  • 1 head of cauliflower, steamed (careful not to steam it into mushiness)
  • 2 ribs of celery in tiny dice
  • 1 scallion thinly sliced
  • several green olives sliced
  • 1 baby dill pickle in tiny dice
  • 1/4 cup red bell pepper in tiny dice
  • a dash or two each of salt, pepper, and garlic powder
  • 3 tablespoons pickle juice
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 3 tablespoons yellow mustard
  • paprika to garnish

After steaming the cauliflower, allow it to chill completely in the refrigerator.  When cool, cut it up in 1/2 inch chunks and throw them in a mixing bowl with the other diced veggies.  Add the seasonings, then the mayonnaise and mustard.  Stir everything together until everything is well coated.  Add a little more mayonnaise if needed.  To finish, sprinkle with a little paprika to make it diva pretty, and enjoy a diet friendly low carb treat at your next barbecue.  It goes great with grilled foods.

 

6 responses

  1. avian101

    This is a good choice for replacing potatoes with cauliflowers, I like them both a lot! I’m good for eating all veggies since I was a kid, now Tyler eats broccoli, peas, potatoes, culiflowers, beans, barley, he eats everything! He burns a lot of calories and his appetite never falters. Our friends are in awe when they see him eat all kinds of food, while most of his friends are crying because they don’t like the food their parents give them. I day a week they go to MCcDonalds for an hour to the indoor playground and then they eat together, Tyler is the only one that eats, no problem at all and the rest of the kids have their mothers on top of them trying to feed them forcibly! It’s a joke! 🙂 They all wish they had Tyler as a son!
    Thanks for the recipe Diva, you’re the greatest!

    June 30, 2012 at 2:21 pm

  2. I hope you get to try this one…it’s really tasty.

    I’m sure with a Poppy like you Tyler’s good habits will stay with him all his life. I’ve always loved the veggies. I can remember my sisters being made to sit at the table for long times until they finished their beets. I didn’t care for those but since I wanted to play more, I’d go ahead and choke them down. It was better than sitting there crying and dreading over them. I’ve never really forced my kids to eat anything…I’d just play the “One more bite” game if they were being stubborn about eating something (which was rare). I wouldn’t put too much on their plates. They’d always oblige and then could be excused from the table.

    I bet Tyler is a smart kid too. Eating right helps the brain develop in the early years. Keep up the good work, and thanks! 🙂

    July 1, 2012 at 11:31 am

  3. I love smashed cauliflower so this would be a nice change!! I didn’t know that carbs and fat are a no-no.. but it makes sense I guess:)

    July 2, 2012 at 11:40 am

    • A friend of mine was also telling me the other day that you could mash cauliflower just like potatoes but very low carb. She’s a nutritionist and said that a little fat is OK if you want to reduce, but its the carbs added to the fat that get you, and once the carbs burn off it makes you feel way hungrier than you would normally (something having to do with the pancreas). I think it’s true.. I feel less hungry when I stay away from the sugary things …but it’s sooo hard! I dream about cakes and cookies all night. I never knew you could do this mashed cauliflower…guess I missed that memo…but I’d like to give it a try. It’s another month before my physical so I’m looking for all kinds of diet options. (10 more lbs and I get the lowest ins. rates 😉 ) Thanks!

      July 2, 2012 at 12:39 pm

      • Ahhhh… that’s why we go back for seconds!!

        July 2, 2012 at 1:07 pm

  4. Pingback: Fauxtato Zucchini Salad » Low Carb » Gluten Free | up late anyway...

I'd love to read your thoughts.

