A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Veggies Are Great, But Lemon Meringue Pie Is Too

Besides refusing to eat fast food any more, I’ve been cutting out the bread things in my life recently.  I thought I would miss my beloved bread …and there is still a place for it in my life …but not as much or as often.  I find that when I do without carbs all together, I don’t feel as hung up on what to eat to fill me up.  I’m not even really so hungry ever, that I can’t wait until dinner to eat something.  Doing without bread and sweets has been easy with such a great variety of fresh fruits and vegetables available in summer.  I crave these things all winter so we’ll see how my style of diet changes from now.

With being so busy (the one with the truck moves the most stuff) and eating way less but of better food, I’ve lost about 12 pounds since mid June without much effort.  Staying busy is the key for me.  If I’m not too busy I gravitate towards the kitchen, so I’ve made the outdoors the place to be and have tons of stuff growing, only a little of which is food.  Keeping things from parching in the high temps we’ve had lately can be an acrobatic event, hosing and sprinkling all around the house.  One day it reached 108° and I think I sweat about 10 pounds off just by watering all of the garden beds.

When it’s so hot who wants to cook?  I’d rather not heat up the  house and the grill has become my best new friend.  Anything that you can cook inside can be made more robust when grilled outside…anything from apricots to zucchini.  I’ve been pairing grilled and fresh foods a lot recently and keeping meals so simple gives us more of this long daylight to play.  Walking, biking, and hanging out with the kid at our local playground have been easier too.  Picnics are so memorable for us…it’s not the grill chicken sandwich I packed, it’s the green grass, big sky with happy puffy clouds, an interesting bird flower or bug that we’ll look up later, and a breeze in the shade at our picnic table.  When it’s too hot to go to the park we have snacks like these:

Salads have made quite a comeback in our house these days also.  I find that if I wash and prep a head each of romaine and iceberg and store it in a two gallon zip-top bag, it is so easy to grab a hunk of lettuce, throw it on a plate, dress it up a bit, and be on our merry way. We’ve been saving tons of money eating this way too!

It’s nice to eat so well for a while but sooner or later an event comes up that deserves a special treat.  We went to a going away party for a friend last night and I was asked to bring a dessert.  A cool lemon meringue pie was my dessert of choice and apparently it worked out nicely.

Here is a recipe from the 1976 version of the Betty Crocker Cookbook that was what I used in this pie.  For the custard put the sugar and starch in a saucepan, slowly add the water and heat to a boil stirring constantly.  Add a small amount of the sugar mixture to the bowl of egg yolks and stir quickly.  Add a little more and stir again.  Then add the yolk mixture to the sugar mixture with the lemon juice, zest, and butter and stir constantly until thick.  Pour it into your baked shell then begin work on the meringue.

I hope you try it for some summery soiree. It’ll surely be a hit! 

10 responses

  1. That is just beautiful!

    July 16, 2012 at 10:49 pm

  2. Oh.. you had me planning to exercise, abstain from carbs.. until that last photo..lol.. now I’m just dying for a wee slice of decadent pie:D

    July 16, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    • It’s hard being sooo good! We deserve a wee slice of the pie! (I actually forgot to add the butter.. but didn’t miss it or its extra calories)

      July 17, 2012 at 11:20 am

  3. Good for you!

    July 16, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    • Haha! It WAS good! Abstaining for so long made it taste even better 😉

      July 17, 2012 at 9:13 am

  4. avian101

    I’m so glad to see that you’ve kept your word about the unhealthy food. We’re following your steps Diva, we have 2 different classes of basil plants growing in flower pots and we are using the bonsai technique to trim leaves continuously and only cutting at the end of the stem, the plant will automatically grow more leaves that before. We also have a plant of cilantro. We have made pesto and eaten the cilantro also, same kind of trimming. Some friends gave us tons of ocra that I like in soup also got lots of tomatoes, very delicious. It’s very rewarding to eat less and weigh less, my clothes are not tight anymore. That’s good, don’t you think? 🙂

    July 16, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    • Man, nothing is worse than uncomfortable clothing. A summer fresh diet helps that along doesn’t it? Trimming the herbs can be a good workout if you have them all over like I do. The basil is trying so hard to go to seed. I’ve got to trim every couple of days.

      I’ve got friends too that keep me well stocked with tomatoes and zuchinni. I’m loving it!

      July 17, 2012 at 9:25 am

  5. Keep up the good work.

    July 17, 2012 at 6:17 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

