A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Leftover Made Over

I just love to grill!  I think I love it because our backyard is a very pleasant natural setting full of flowers trees and birds drawing me …but there’s that smell… that smell that is that smokey aroma you occasionally are treated to in the neighborhoods of someone barbecuing...giving me the heady desire to fire up!

Tuesday I prepared a whole chicken by removing the back bone with a shears.  I put a bit of soft butter under the breast skin and sprinkled it with a Greek seasoning mixture.  Spreading it out in one piece over indirect heat I grilled it for one hour without turning it.  As grills vary, it’s good to have an instant read thermometer to be sure of thorough cooking.  The breast should read at least 160° F and the thigh 180° F.  This made a fine couple of meals as everyone was on a different schedule and the chicken was divvied up and put in various lunch bags and suppers.  The breast meat still warm from the grill was so juicy and tender it was crazy!  I didn’t get to taste the leg until today.

With these two unspoken for pieces of chicken I decided to give it a little make-over to make me a little lunch as spicy as I want it.  The chicken leg only needed to be warmed in a small skillet (I love using cast iron for re-heating).  Once I chopped up a couple of scallions, a third of a nice big jalapeno pepper, some cilantro and a fresh Roma tomato, I cranked up the heat of the skillet to high and let the vegetables cook in a little olive oil with the chicken on top absorbing the steam and flavors.  I let this simmer down a while on a lower heat as not to scorch the vegetables but allow them to bubble and reduce their juices.  I removed the chicken that was now fully reheated, added a few splashes of chardonay to the vegetables and let that reduce again.  I salted and peppered along the way then spooned this mixture over the chicken and snipped a little more cilantro on top.  It was so satisfyingly spicy and sumptuous, it was hard to believe I was eating leftovers.

2 responses

  1. avian101

    That’s very good, you just put a spin on cooking Diva! Left overs that are better that the original dish. Is becoming something like the pre-washed jeans! Clever lady you’re a genius! If you ever invite me for dinner just give me leftovers! 🙂

    July 20, 2012 at 4:28 pm

  2. Roasting a chicken was one of the first “complicated” dishes I ever made as a young wife and mother. Now I realize it’s simply the best way to prepare chicken ever. What a great sauce you’ve made too!

    July 23, 2012 at 4:01 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

