A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Summer Side Of Sprouts

As a kid you couldn’t get me to even touch my lips to a brussel sprout.  I think it’s because of the way they were cooked back in the day.   From the freezer to being steamed and a little salt added was the only way I ever saw them prepared.  I didn’t know that you could prepare them to taste great but I think I managed to make an improvement…that is to say, now I can actually put them in my mouth, chew, swallow and say YUM!

The next few photos will show you what I did.  Be sure to roll over each one for the details.This is a far cry from the brussel sprouts I had long ago, steamed to death and of an unappetizing shade of overcooked green.  A vegetable I once hated is now one I want to have again and again, thanks to the roasting method, the lemon juice, tomatoes, and spices.  If you’ve never liked brussel sprouts, I hope this recipe can turn things around for you too.

7 responses

  1. avian101

    Brussel sprouts is a good and healthy vegetable that many people underestimate and if its not popular is because not many people know how to prepare them correctly and tasty. There are vegetables that have more taste that others by nature such as yams, tomatoes, beets. Others are less tastier and their magic comes to work when the cook combine them with flavor that enhance the basic veg. such as potatoes, broccoli, cauliflower etc. Brussel sprouts fall under this category. Your own ingenuity helped you to figure that my dear Diva.! Bravissimo! 🙂

    July 30, 2012 at 5:08 pm

  2. I humbly thank you Avian, These days I’m looking to make all the veggies a little more fun to eat. I’ve got just two weeks ’til the physical and five pounds to go to make those good insurance rates. Wish me luck!

    July 30, 2012 at 5:18 pm

  3. shejj

    I don’t usually like sprouts, but once my mom made them and they were actually quite nice, but then they were not very nice again, but this looks delicious 🙂

    July 30, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    • Thank you! They turned out nicely but I have had them when they’ve turned out bitter. I don’t know what causes that but I luckily managed to avoid it.

      July 30, 2012 at 6:26 pm

  4. If you do them right, they taste like little bitty cabbages!

    July 30, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    • They do! And I love cabbage. Do you have a special way to do them? I’d bet you and/or your wife have a Southern finesse with brussel sprouts.

      July 30, 2012 at 7:12 pm

      • I like them just lightly boiled or steamed, add salt and pepper, then drizzle them with pepper sause. Not the red kind, but the kind made from peppers and vinegar.

        July 31, 2012 at 7:47 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

