A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

A Rubenesque Sandwich

Since writing a food blog I’ve run the risk of becoming a bit reubenesque myself.  But I don’t want to look like the subject of Sir Peter Paul Rubens’ work.  We will soon be “renewing our vows” with the life insurance company and since June, long walks, and leaner meals have become a necessary habit.  I’ve had a measure of success getting my weight down to the prime rate zone by cutting waaaay down on sugar and bread.  When I do eat bread it is whole wheat and only after a really hearty work out.  Now after  today’s  5 mile power walk, I decided I want my favorite sandwich of all …a tangy, cheesy, meaty Reuben

I still wanted to stay in the 500 calorie per meal place so this reuben sandwich would require some adjustments.  Instead of two slices of marble rye grilled with butter, I used a whole wheat bun of 60 calories.  I then sprayed a skillet with canola oil spray, toasted the bun, and browned off the meat.  I used deli thin ham that I had on hand, but you could definitely use turkey, ham.  Red meats like the traditional pastrami have more calories but this ham had only 70 calories per serving.  A slice of swiss cheese is only 60 cal/ serving and I found fat free Thousand Island dressing and sauerkraut combined to finish it off adding only another 25 calories.  So the total of calories for this very tasty sandwich came to only 215!  That’s so good that I could afford to have another one plus a garden fresh sliced tomato on the side.

My sandwich craving has been completely satisfied with this reubenesque version, and my figure will continue to become less reubenesque as a result…The Three Graces would have loved this.  (credit goes to wikipedia for this lovely picture)

3 responses

  1. avian101

    It’s commendable of you to be vigilant of what you ingest not only for the insurance sake but for being healthy and sharing your talents with us.
    Thank you for your recipes! 🙂

    August 20, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    • Thank you for you commendation and thank you for enjoying them Avian. 🙂

      August 20, 2012 at 5:28 pm

  2. If only more people would think about what they are putting into their mouth we would be a nation of healthier people.

    August 21, 2012 at 5:53 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

