A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

A Portable Bakery And A Two Year Bloggiversary

While Bill was in college he not only came away with a bachelors in music, he learned how to bake great bread.  He’s off to Europe now but while he’d been home for a spell, he showed me the ropes in his new hobby, making sourdough bread.  He started about a year ago with a starter he ordered on line.  Since he was home a whole week, he made several successive batches, from that starter, each one tasting better than the last, carrying forward more of that distinctive sourdough flavor.  By the third batch the bread tasted just like it was fresh from a San Francisco bakery.

Firstly Bill baked this bread with some starter dough that he had dried before he left NY where he spent most of the summer.  He dissolved the starter in water, and “fed” it some flour initially to wake up the yeast.  Over the course of about 24 hours. this starter dough became extremely bubbly, and Bill would add more flour and water to make the dough.  He added salt and let it rise a couple of times, then baked it at a really high temperature…about 450° under a large Pyrex glass mixing bowl inverted.  He said that the steam was very important to forming the crust and getting the dough to bake through completely.  I believe it!   Maybe it’s because I haven’t eaten bread in a while (and yes, I passed the physical with flying colors but that will be another story, in the meantime it’s good to eat delicious bread again) but this bread just keeps getting better!

It was really fun seeing my son.  He’d been away for so long.  Getting caught up again has been fantastic, and doing it while great sourdough bread is being made puts me over the moon.  It’s great when your kids grow up… and teach you things.

I owe my oldest daughter the biggest thanks.  She’s a fine cook as well, and taught me how to make perfect pork fried rice.  But my thanks goes to her for a different talent at this time.  She works on computers all day and knows how to navigate with the best of them.   She showed me how to use WordPress and how to start blogging, and that is really an accomplishment to get this computer illiterate momma using a computer in daily life!

It’s been a fun two years thinking up new things to cook, ways to save money and making new friends.   I’ve also been very lucky.  I’ve put my little Kodak camera through the ringer but have never had the misfortune to have dropped it in a bowl of something really sloppy…like this batch of sourdough starter Bill left me to play around with.

Please tune in next time to hear about how my first batch of sourdough bread turns out.

6 responses

  1. That bread looks really tasty! I’m glad you got to spend time with your son, I know it meant a lot to you.

    September 12, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    • Thanks so much! It was pretty nice to eat bread again…and such an artisan style of bread. And you are right it meant a lot! 🙂 I haven’t had all three of the kids at home at the same time in years.

      September 13, 2012 at 1:37 pm

  2. Sour dough bread is really good. Sounds like a nice recipe.

    September 12, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    • What ever he did it was like magic! I’ll be posting about my attempt soon. I hope the magic doesn’t wear off. Thanks and thanks for stopping by 🙂

      September 13, 2012 at 1:31 pm

  3. avian101

    It’s great to hear from you again, I was wondering if you did so well with your diet that you took a job in Paris as a fashion model! 🙂
    The sourdough bread looks delicious I can smell the aroma of hot bread already!

    September 12, 2012 at 10:42 pm

  4. Thanks Avian, I have been busy but not as a fashion model, heavens! There’s a lot more job security in just being a mom for now. The runways will have to wait. (tee hee) My next story will be about how I made the bread after Bill left and it will include how the physical went…so don’t touch that dial! 😉

    September 13, 2012 at 1:48 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

