A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Off The Diet To Celebrate

The kitchen has been such a productive place these days, I’m thinking of putting a cot up somewhere by the stove.  As I said in my previous post I would give an account on howbaking bread with the sourdough starter would go.  I inherited a batch of starter from my son who has gone off to Europe without any exact instructions on how he achieved such fine loaves of bread.  I used my best bread sense, but  I’m not going to lie,  it wasn’t enough.  I baked a loaf  but it didn’t turn out nearly as good as Bill’s.  Mine lacked that bubbly tenderness in the crumb that is so characteristic of sourdough bread.  Mine was dense and dry in the end but not a total loss.  It was nice and tangy and therefore made excellent croutons when baked with herbs and extra virgin olive oil.

Having good croutons made was very tasty in a big salad I made for our 7TH annual block party.  I also made a veggie tray, a cheese ball, and our neighbor across the street always obliges to do the grilling.  It has become a tradition for my husband and I to celebrate our anniversary with the whole neighborhood.  With the money we would use to go out to a fancy dinner, we decided  years ago that a better setting would be to celebrate in our own yard…after all, we got married in our back yard eleven years ago.  That story I will save for Valentine’s day because it’s a really great love story.  After celebrating this way for the past seven years, our neighbors are not just neighbors any more, they are friends.  We couldn’t hope for a better anniversary gift than that.

This gathering turns out a little bigger each year.  We send out flyers, set up the tables, chairs, gazebo, and the party lamps are lit.  Everyone brings a dish to share if they are so moved.  There is always enough for all, and the kids get to play with each other in safety with the street block off from traffic.  It’s a great time and this year we had some musical talent show up at the end capping off the night with a little impromptu jam session.  So much fun!

It has been great to have all this fun, and finally go off the big diet for a while.  A seniorly neighbor made the best apple dessert made with apple, brown sugar, cinnamon and sour cream you ever could imagine.  I was all over that stuff man!  The life insurance physical went very well.  I didn’t make the weight they wanted…missed by just a few pounds, but it will only cost three extra dollars a month for the insurance.  I can live with that, but in case I don’t in the next ten years…well I guess it’ll be worth it….plus I’ll go having tried Mrs. Smiths apple dessert.  I didn’t count on such a bonus.

After all the hard work though, I don’t want to stop such a healthy trend.  I’m approaching an age where fitness is more important than ever.  I’ve always heard the saying “Use it or loose it” and believe it is true.  I hate to loose the ground on getting my weight, heart-rate, and blood pressure down so I will continue my walks and to  eat a healthier diet.  Now, since the pressure is off, I can afford to throw in a bit of decadence once in a while.  Our block party Friday sure was a nice break from the regimen.

2 responses

  1. avian101

    Congratulations Diva! Happy Anniversary! Happy wishes for you and you lovely family! I’m sincerely happy for you! 🙂

    September 24, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    • Thank you Avian! We couldn’t have asked for a better weekend.

      September 24, 2012 at 10:51 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

