A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

To Cheat Or Not To Cheat

I say Don’t do it!  You’ve got it so good!  You’ll only live to regret it.  Don’t eat that luscious raspberry banana ice cream!  …Wait a minute…it’s made with only bananas and raspberries…  That is to say, it’s made totally from fruit?

The clouds clear.  Angels sweep across the sky.  An ethereal voice booms out, “You’ve been good my child.”

That is the dream I had while tasting this yummy frozen smoothie.  If you have a freezer and a food processor, you can make this yummy treat that looks just like home made ice cream and tastes just like Heaven.

Firstly, freeze two bananas peeled and chopped into chunks (a banana with a few brown speckles on the skin is ideal).  The raspberries are also frozen.  I purchase them by the bag but you could freeze fresh ones as well.

With a cup of berries and the banana chunks, just whirl them in the processor for a several minutes (you might need to scrape the sides a few times) until it becomes the consistency of soft serve ice cream.  You may also put it in a plastic container, freeze it again, and it will be a scoopable mixture you could put in a cone.  You could also use frozen strawberries.

Finally, a truly guilt free dessert that really tastes and melts in your mouth like something Ben and Jerry would invent.

As long as I have a freezer full of fruit I will be able to resist the temptation to cheat while trying to reduce.  I have my daughter Bonnie to thank for turning me on to this yummy frozen treat idea.

2 responses

  1. avian101

    If I ruin my laptop with the drooling I’ll sue you Diva! If you hear a booming voice saying WHY? That will be my voice! You’re always tempting me with all these goodies, good thing I don’t have a food processor! It looks so delicious…WHY? 🙂

    September 26, 2012 at 11:01 am

    • Avian’s shopping list: napkins, food processor, bananas, frozen raspberries. 🙂

      September 26, 2012 at 11:06 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

