A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Catering to a Young Couple

A few months ago our church had a Trivia Night and I volunteered to cater dinner for two, a dinner a month for six months.  A young couple who both work and go to school (no kids), and rarely get a chance to have even a meal together, won the prize.  It couldn’t have happened to a more deserving couple.  I’m focused on preparing home-style meals for these nice people, and since it is the husband’s birthday I made a special supper for them tonight.

I began by making the fudge from the Jet-puffed marshmallow cream’s recipe on the back label called “Fantasy Fudge.  It always comes out perfect and creamy.  It took a while to set so I could cut up little squares.  The next part was potatoes.  I simply microwaved two of them for eight minutes, cut  a slice off the top and used a melon ball tool to scoop out the middle, leaving about a 1/4″ thick little potato pot.  With the scooped out potato, I added a teaspoon of butter, some Greek seasoning, and a splash of cream.  I mashed this together and spooned equal parts back into the hollowed out shells.  To give it a textured look, I simply dragged a fork across the top of the potato to make little ridges.  I set them aside until I made a Caesar salad, cooked the carrots with a bacon fat and brown sugar glaze and a sprinkle of S&P and parsley flakes, then went outside to grill the strip steaks to a lovely medium rare.

While the steaks were grilling I brushed the tops with butter and put the potatoes in the toaster oven to warm up and even get a little brown on top.  The steaks were soon done and everything was ready to be shipped.  I love to make dinner for people, especially when it is as nice as this.  I hope by this time they are digging in and enjoying their meal together, and I wish the husband a very happy birthday.

4 responses

  1. avian101

    Do you know something? This is the perfect meal for me! On Sunday is Lucy’s birthday and I invited her to a steak restaurant! I’m ready to eat a whole cow! I should print this picture and hang it over my desk meanwhile! 🙂

    September 27, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    • Do I see an ulterior motive? He he. Don’t torture yourself with a picture, heavens! Feliz Cumpleanos to Lucy!

      September 28, 2012 at 12:09 am

  2. What a great meal. I like that the leftovers are so versatile. You can repurpose the steak and salad about anyway. Wait, have I ever had leftover steak? Ha.

    September 30, 2012 at 11:56 am

    • So funny..& thanks, and I agree.. leftover steak? It’s a myth…kinda like leftover bacon. Thanks for stoppin’ by.

      I looked through your lovely blog today and I really need to subscribe. That roast was gorgeous! Be looking out for me, K?

      September 30, 2012 at 10:38 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

