A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Saturday’s Sticky Buns

For the first Saturday in a long time all of us were able to just be at home in the morning, jammies and slipper clad, nowhere to have to go.  This was reason for a celebration!  A batch of sweet sticky buns would be just the thing for this bunch on this beautiful and slightly chilly autumn morning.

I got up today about 6, way before anyone else, and started to make the dough.  In a cup and a half of hot water, I added two tablespoons of dry rapid-rise yeast, a good squirt of honey, and stirred everything until dissolved.   I added about 4 cups of flour, a teaspoon of salt, and about three tablespoons sugar.  I stirred this for a good while in lieu of kneading on the counter.  For these sticky buns you need a sticky dough.  I added bits of flour as I stirred until I had a mixture that was a little firmer but still quite sticky.

Once all the flour was incorporated, I let the dough rise to double its volume (I turned the oven on to heat the kitchen up a bit and let the dough rise in the bowl on top of the stove where it was just warm enough to speed things along).   After about thirty minutes the dough had risen. I stirred it down and it practically rose again during the time it took to prepare a baking pan with cooking spray and a dusting of flour.

To make up the buns, I put a couple of tablespoons of butter on one plate, and loaded a second plate with brown sugar (a little less than a cup).  I then, scooped blobs of dough a bit bigger than an egg, buttered my hands, rolled the blobs between them to coat with butter, and made little dough cigars.  Wet with the melted butter, I dredged the “cigars” through the brown sugar, and starting a one end, I rolled the dough into chubby little spirals.   Each spiral was placed into the 13″x 9″ pan snugly until all 15 buns were buttered, sugared, rolled and nicely nestled.  I sprinkled the sugar remaining on the plate, onto the buns and dusted them liberally with cinnamon.  I wish I would have thought to add the cinnamon to the brown sugar in the beginning, but at that hour of the morning I barely know my name until I’ve consumed a certain amount of coffee (Also, I would have added chopped pecans but I live with a bunch of nut naysayers).

The buns were now allowed to rise again before popping them in the oven (400°F).  I baked them for 35 minutes, or to take the guesswork out of doneness, until the internal temperature of the bread was 200°F.

By now the smells wafted into the bedrooms and all around, pleasantly calling the rest of the family to consciousness.  With the buns out of the oven, everyone was waiting patiently to dig in.  The final touch was to add a drizzle of glaze made with about 1/4 cup powdered sugar and a half teaspoon of cream, then a few drops of water to achieve the correct consistency.   This was dripped all around on top and the buns were complete.

I’ve had sticky buns that were so sweet and sticky you practically needed a bath after eating one.  So try this much lighter version using only a tablespoon of butter (half of it was left on the plate) and less than a cup of brown sugar loosely poured.  You won’t regret it!

 

4 responses

  1. avian101

    Wow! They look so delicious! I can smell them now! Uhmmm! 🙂

    September 29, 2012 at 10:42 pm

  2. Crystal Drake

    You always make everything look so easy….they look deish! I would love to eat one, just don’t want to make them…I wish i enjoyed cooking and baking as much as you! Less than 60 days and maybe you can make another batch, while we are there!

    October 1, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    • Thanks Crystal! I will, and lots of other things too. I’m so looking forward to your visit!

      October 2, 2012 at 8:25 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

