A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Leave it to Leftovers

I’ve been intensely busy since September.  It wasn’t just the block party or the anniversary but my husband’s dad who passed away soon after.  The next month (newly widowed) my mother  in law’s brother suddenly passed away too.  Another month and my sister in law discovered a lump in her breast.  She lives in the same subdivision down in Texas as my mother in law, so “Mom” has taken quite a few hits this Fall.  She and “Bro” (Jeff’s brother) and “Sis” were up to visit to see sights, friends, and relatives before treatment starts for this cancer.  It will be a long road for Sis to healing as well.

Sister's husband taunts a bird at the St. Louis Zoo...don't worry no blood was drawn but he naturally did bite.

Sister’s husband taunts a bird at the St. Louis Zoo…don’t worry no blood was drawn but the bird  naturally did bite.

Santa's sleigh goes by on Main St. in the Christmas parade in old town St. Charles

Santa’s sleigh goes by on Main St. in the Christmas parade in old town St. Charles

Nephew works hard at St. Louis' iconic Courtesy Diner

Nephew works hard at St. Louis’ iconic Courtesy Diner

48838

Always had some mighty fine wine

While they and other relatives were in town for Thanksgiving and the week after, we ate drank and made merry.  We laughed a lot but cried a couple of times.  It was a busy time but wonderful to be able to visit with the ones I love who are going through so much.  I did what I usually do to entertain folks, I cooked, and cooked and cooked.  It just wasn’t the time to go taking pictures of food.  I only put my immediate family through that quirk of mine.  It would have been impossible anyway because most times the counters were covered with food and, the kitchen was full of bodies.  Though

Great fresh from the oven and great as French toast next day

Great fresh from the oven and great as French toast next day

tons of food was made  for the past several weeks I had no time to stop and document…I will say that I made the best darn tortellini soup the day the in-laws arrived.

All food was made in a quick way and many meals were made from leftovers.  I made buffalo chicken pizza from leftover roasted chicken, and many sandwiches from various meats cooked for supper the night before.  There was french toast from the day old baked bread, and salads made with veggies from the veggie tray.  Because there were so many to feed the leftovers didn’t last very long.  It was the gift that kept on giving.  No one ever went hungry or had to go out for food (unless we were already out seeing sights during a mealtime) although Bro’s son lives here and works at an iconic diner down town and we just had to patronize the place he’s so proud of.  Another time they gave me a break from cooking and got a family meal from the local chicken place.  The coleslaw that wasn’t enough for a serving was great on one of those everything sandwiches.  It all worked out like a dream.

One of those everything and the kitchen sink sandwiches

One of those everything and the kitchen sink sandwiches

Everyone is back home now and still there are the five of us to feed.  We will still be living on leftovers for a few days because I just can’t make something new until I can see the back of the refrigerator.

2 responses

  1. avian101

    I’m so sorry to learn about the sad moments that have happened to your in-laws. But I’m glad to hear that you’re ok and your immediate family.

    December 5, 2012 at 4:14 pm

  2. I’m grateful for your kind thoughts. Sorry so late in responding, and for all this hammy business of late…hard to turn down a freebee though. Hope you had a very happy Hanukah. 🙂 iiii][iiii 🙂

    December 19, 2012 at 9:37 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

