A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

The Perfect Cup Of Coffee

The little coffee filter of the Keureg machineAs you all may read in previous posts, I’m likely the world’s worst java junkie.  I have at least three coffee making machines and I’ve recently acquired a Keureg machine that really makes a great cup of coffee…but just one cup at at time.  That’s probably a good thing for me and I have found that “Newman’s Own” is my favorite kind that comes in the little K-cups.  Since I’m also the world’s worst cheap skate, I don’t go out and purchase them unless company is coming or unless I find a really good sale.

My Three Amigos

My Three Amigos

I have taken to grinding my own coffee from whole beans for my morning cup.  Freshly ground coffee is the best.  The machine is conveniently set to be ready right when I wake up.  The trouble there is, that the Keureg machine has a tiny little basket that needs cleaned between each cup and

Two heaping tablespoons makes one pot

Two heaping tablespoons makes one pot

it seems to take a good amount of coffee for that one cup…almost the same amount my little six cup Mr. Coffee drip coffee maker used to make.  It really tastes great though, but since it was a

Fill it to the top and let her drip

Fill it to the top and let her drip

gift, I feel like I’m cheating on my Keureg by making coffee any other way.  With the K-cups coffee is ready in less than a minute, and it is always freshly brewed.  That’s the best part but the owner’s manual is as big as the TV Guide, and the machine takes up a good bit

Now that's a cup of coffee

Mmm…the warm yumminess

of counter space.  I love it and I love and adore the people who gave it to me, but I’m afraid this is just too fancy of an appliance for me.

Though I claim to be this Diva, I really lead a simple lifestyle.  I make most things from scratch, I own one dress and a suit (I’m all about the blue jeans), I drive a 1978 Ford F-150 ( runs like a top and the oil is just as amber as you please), I hate and dread going shopping, my dishwasher is on the fritz and I don’t care (I’d rather do them by hand anyway.  It’s faster and I do a better job).  I don’t even wear make-up unless I’m going somewhere special, and the best darn coffee comes

Easy to clean too

Easy to clean too

from an old beat up coffee pot my grandmother used and I inherited.  It was made by the Enterprise Aluminum Company of Massillon Ohio in the 1930’s (an era I’m fascinated by).  It’s called the Drip-O-lator.  No filter is required and all one needs to do is boil about two cups of water.  In five minutes the water is boiled and the dripping is done.  There are five tiny holes in the upper reservoir that allow the water to drip at just the right rate.  In the end, three cups of the most delicious coffee I’ve ever tasted is ready.

With the holidays and company coming and going, I’ll use this lovely Keureg.  I’ll purchase a big box of Newman’s Own K-cups but after they are gone, I’ll probably put this expensive and lovely machine away.  I’m really the only one in the house that drinks coffee (and I probably drink enough for the five of us), but I’m finding it hard to adjust to modernity of it all.

The old ones are much easier to work on

Not too pretty but “Ol’ T-rusty” runs great

4 responses

  1. avian101

    It’s great to hear about coffees of different types, I love my 2 cups of Joe in the morning and one at tea time ???(Old habits from my family, tea and scones at 5:00pm) I’m not fuzzy about brands or percolators, it just have to be coffee. Your coffee I’m sure must be delicious because you have the magic hands for only good things. 🙂

    December 21, 2012 at 3:48 pm

    • Sounds like you have a little blue in the blood. And you are so kind. Thank you. It is always a pleasure to read your comments. 🙂

      December 22, 2012 at 5:09 pm

  2. Dripolators have become my favorite method of brewing. But my most-used device (other than my 9-year-old Braun auto-drip) is a little Silex “2-cupper” from the ’40s. I have to suffer with a Keurig at work (Colombian Free Trade), but at home, it’s Sumatran ground with an old Zassenhaus mill.

    October 22, 2014 at 6:20 pm

    • They knew their coffee back in the 40’s didn’t they? My next quest will be to find one of those old mills. Thanks for stopping by Dave.

      November 4, 2014 at 3:54 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

