A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Tostada Turn-on

I adore Mexican cuisine.  My family does too.  Anything that has hot peppers, onions, cheese and tomatoes turns me on!  This dish was no exception.  It also had the added protein of chicken and beans.  What’s not to love about the four food groups all landing on top of a crispy tostada?

Wal-Mart of all places was having a sale…a 24 pack of tostadas for just $1!  Great price and it made a great supper, plus they are really easy to make.  For this dish (which

I get a little prep work out of the way by slicing and dicing things beforehand

I get a little prep work out of the way by slicing and dicing things beforehand

serves four or five) I used:

  • 10 tostada shells
  • 8-10 oz re-fried beans (about half a can)
  • 4 oz shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cooked, cooled and diced breast of chicken
  • 1 avocado in thin slices
  • 1/2 finely diced onion
  • a wedge of iceberg lettuce thinly sliced
  • 1 tomato diced
  • pickled jalapeno slices as desired

Preheat oven to 350°, arrange tostada shells on a well seasoned cookie sheet, spread approximately one ounce of beans on each along with a handful of diced chicken on each.  Cover this with a good pinch of shredded cheese and bake for about 6 or 7 minutes or until the cheese is melted.  Remove from oven and top with avocado slices, tomato cubes, lettuce and jalapeno pepper slices and plate up.

Layers #1 and #2

Layers #1 and #2

I made a batch of fresh asparagus by steaming it in the microwave with about half a cup of water and a couple of pats of butter for 3 and 1/2 minutes in an appropriately sized dish loosley covered with a lid.  This went very well with our

Add layer #3 and bake

Add layer #3 and bake

tostadas and  everyone got a wedge of lemon to squeeze over their plate to brighten the whole meal.  There wasn’t even a scrap left over

Add the already prepped veggies and turn yourself on to tostadas

Add the already prepped veggies and turn yourself on to tostadas

and that really turned me on because I’m about fed up with leftovers.   48948

2 responses

  1. avian101

    I’ve eaten something like that at a friend’s home, he’s from Mexico. For sure is a healthy and easy to like dish. My very best favorite Mexican dish is the chicken fajitas. I ate those first time in 1994 in Los Angeles when I was there for a business trip. I got hooked Señorita Diva! 🙂

    December 22, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    • I can understand getting hooked on fajitas! I love how they come out with all that sizzling flair in the restaurants. I hear the trick is to squeeze lime juice on that hot cast iron skillet just before serving. This diva loves a dramatic dish. I may have to try it at home..even though they advise against trying things at home. 🙂 You gotta live on the edge sometimes.

      December 22, 2012 at 9:16 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

