A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Fabulous Stuffed Flounder

If you have guests to impress or a New Year celebration you want to make very special I urge you to try this delightful dish what ever your occasion.  We never go out on New Year’s Eve, usually because the weather is awful but mostly because of what’s out there.  Jeff and I call it amateur night.  He works the midnight shift this amateur night so tonight we celebrated the last night of 2012 with this deliciously special meal.

I purchased a bag of frozen flounder fillets about a week ago wondering how I would prepare them.  I’ve heard of stuffed flounder but never had the opportunity to make it.49013  Well this night I made it my own way.  The bag contained about 10 pieces of fish that I thawed in the microwave most of the way and let the room temperature thaw it the rest of the way.  Here’s what you’ll need to make this lovely dish:

  • 9 or 10 fillets of flounder
  • 1 box corn bread instant stuffing
  • 1 box chicken flavored instant stuffing
  • 3 cups boiling water
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 box frozen spinach, thawed.
  • 4 oz. grated Monterrey Jack cheese

Preheat the oven to 350­°, combine both boxes of stuffing in a large mixing bowl then add the water and butter.  Add the 49016spinach and mix thoroughly.  When the fish fillets are thawed, cut any that 49017are whole in half right down the spinal seam.  Feel for bones and pull them 49020out if necessary.   In a 9″ x 9″ casserole pan shape the halved fillets into little rings, flesh side out as the fish tends to curl in towards the skin side, and fill each with a good amount of stuffing so that all 9 or 10 stuffed fillet rings fit snugly.  49022Top each one with a bit of cheese and bake for 35 to 40 minutes or until the fish is all white and cooked.

49027With the extra stuffing, put it in an oven proof pan, top with cheese and 49026bake along side the fish.  This will be done before the fish so keep an eye to remove it about 10 minutes before the flounder is done.

When the fish was done, I let this rest about 10 minutes, garnished each pair of stuffed fillets with a slice of lime, and as a side dish I sauteed carrots in a little olive oil, salt, and pepper.  I was happy with two fillets and some carrots but for the more hungry (that would be Jeff)  there was some extra stuffing to fill in the cracks.  I myself was as stuffed as the flounder after dinner, but all of us were delightfully so in the end.  Happy New year everyone!  This dish will go great with a nice brut champagne.  49030

4 responses

  1. avian101

    This recipe goes to my “new meals to do” list! I love all the ingredients! I know I’ll like it! Thank you very much Diva for all the wonderful recipes you posted for 2012, I wish you and your family a healthy and prosperous 2013! 🙂

    December 30, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    • Thank you “A”! This was a good one! Hoping for you, “L”, and “T” a very happy new year as well….more good stuff to come!

      December 30, 2012 at 11:12 pm

  2. That looks so easy and quick and I know it’s good cause, well, I’ve spoken to your husband and he can’t stop bragging on it. Have a wonderful time following this trail and thank you for teaching me a thing or two round the kitchen. Now should you decide to package a book or video, I’m more than happy to stand in line for that.

    December 31, 2012 at 7:51 am

    • Aw, how nice of you Mr. “S”! Folks like you inspire me to do more. I’ve given a bit of thought to creating a cookbook aimed at those on a budget…college kids, newlyweds, just plain folks like me & Jeff… Good food doesn’t have to cost a lot or be too hard to make. Thanks so much for stoppin’ by!

      December 31, 2012 at 1:28 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

