A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

A Hearty Soup To Cure What Ails You

This year is winding up in a tough way with snow and sickness all around.  Seems like everyone I talk to lately has some affliction.  It is true in our house too.  A nasty cold, 47606cough, sniffley thing is going around.  I’m doing well but trying hard to stay out of everyone’s germy way, so that means I’m in the kitchen a lot with my nose over a nice pot of steamy something or other.  Today with already an inch and a half of snow on the ground and a husband to cure up before a long midnight shift, I made a stew with some things from the fridge and pantry.

I wasn’t sure what would happen but here’s what I had:49033

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 of a  Johnsonville summer sausage (1/2 cup cubed)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 2 ribs of celery
  • a handful (2 tablespoons chopped) fresh cilantro
  • 1 package of Uncle Ben’s long grain and wild rice, original flavor
  • 2 and 1/2 cups water
  • 2 swai fillets
  • 1  32 oz. carton vegetable stock
  • 1  15 oz can of fire roasted diced tomatoes

49034The first thing I did was heat the oil, dice up the vegetables and sausage, and toss them in a big stock pot.  I let the onions get clear then added the spices and cilantro.  I let that saute a bit then add the water and wild rice package along with the 49036seasoning packet that comes with it.  I put the lid on, put the flame on simmer and let that go about 25 minutes or until the rice absorbed the 49037liquid.  The swai fillets were chopped into 1/2 in chunks and tossed in.  A good rolling boil was achieved just until the swai was cooked through and all white.  49038 This only took about three minutes.  I turned down the flame again and added the vegetable stock and tomatoes.  This was now let to simmer a few more minutes.

49039It all came together and was a nice seafood gumbo type soup…warm and 49042soothing.  The spice was 49043just enough to open sinuses but not cause a sore throat to become more sore.  It was just what the doctor diva ordered this cold snowy day.

 

 

 

4904449046

4 responses

  1. avian101

    It’s a terrific prescription Dr. Diva D! I’d go for it with minor changes (sausage to be beef and fish to be tilapia) I’m sure that your husband not only wil go to work in good shape, he’ll pull a double shift! Yeah! 🙂

    December 31, 2012 at 2:47 pm

  2. Your substitutes would work fine and not change the yummy factor one bit. The swai though is very similar to tilapia in taste and texture (but it is a fresh water fish), worth a try. Too, the fillets are bigger and cost less…you know me, like a bird…cheap cheap cheap. Happy New Year!

    January 1, 2013 at 12:52 pm

  3. Lots of sickness going around our community as well, hope you all get better soon. I was checking in hoping for a full, complete New Years day traditional meal, but I guess I will have to wait till next year.

    January 2, 2013 at 12:23 am

    • So much going on, there wasn’t a time I could make a traditional meal. Both the big kids moved out and we’ve been redistributing a lot of cooking utensils, furniture, what have you. Everyone has been under the weather as well with all this going on..so sorry it’s been all about soup and comfort food. More to come though… Valentine’s Day I promise a BIG story…and a reason to feast…just wait! There will be stuff in between too. Thank you for the well wishes…we need them! Take care, and Happy New Year to you and Sweet Thing! 🙂

      January 2, 2013 at 1:27 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

