A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Swai My Way

49041At our local market, a fish called Swai (I buy it frozen) from the rivers of south east Asia is available and usually for a pretty good price.  Most fish I like are at least $5.00 per pound here in the U.S.A.  but Swai is a dollar less per pound and the fillets are a nice size…about 6 oz.

49095My favorite way to cook this fish is to lightly dust it with flour and seasonings and pan sear it.  For two fillets (which was all I prepared for me and my daughter and all that would fit into my 9″ skillet) I placed about 1/4 cup flour 49096on a plate, sprinkled a bit of salt, black pepper, and paprika over it, mixed it up with a fork, spread it around on the plate, and dredged the fish through it before putting it in a hot skillet with a few glugs of olive oil.  With the heat on medium high, I seared it on both sides for about three minutes each, then lowered the heat just to warm for a few more minutes.  I flipped them over again once to make sure the fish was done throughout.

Letting it rest on the warm setting a while allowed me to prepare some complimentary side dishes.  Julia and I decided on broccoli as a vegetable.  It 49098was great steamed for 3 minutes in the microwave with a pat or two of butter and a good splash of water.   And for a salad, I looked in the fridge and found two things that were in the “use it or lose it” section (I hate to throw anything out…you know me, Cheapie Cheaperton…throwing out food is like throwing out money…wait, it IS throwing out money) so these two items 49099were my salad.  One was a beautifully ripe avocado, and the other an Indian River grapefruit also at its peak of ripeness.  I didn’t prepare This citrus salad  the beautiful way I’ve seen in the foodie magazines, all arranged in a 49100ring and perportioned perfectly.  I did take the time to ‘supreme” the grapefruit though, which is to cut out only the juicy flesh and leave the membranes behind.  I also took the time to slice the avocado and lay the salad out casually on a plate.  It was just me and my girl so we didn’t need to do it up fancy for just we two.  Bedsides, she doesn’t even like grapefruit and ate only the avocado.

49103Well, she and I both ate every bite on our plates.  When Julia was finished, she said,  “Mom, that was a great dinner!”  A mom can’t ask for a better reaction to fish, broccoli and avocados than that.  It made the meal all the more satisfying.  I think we’ll go and bake cookies for dessert.49106

6 responses

  1. avian101

    Definetely yummy stuff! I’ll try it when I come back from my trip! Thanks for the great recipes! 🙂

    January 11, 2013 at 11:04 pm

  2. First Happy 2013, this recipe looks very good… Have a good week:)

    January 15, 2013 at 11:24 am

    • Hi Katya! Thank you and happy new year to you too.

      January 15, 2013 at 12:14 pm

  3. Love your presentation. Very healthy and economical dish not to mention easy to prepare.

    January 15, 2013 at 3:13 pm

    • Thank you Norma. I loved your latest post about ginger. I want to try growing some too. You are an inspiration!

      January 16, 2013 at 9:46 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

