A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

A Veggie Tale Lunch

49112This veggie tale is not from a cartoon but has no less a religious theme.  It begins with the Holy trinity of food, the onion, carrot, and celery along with a few other things most of which came from the care, service, and sharing of friends.

A few days ago our church had a luncheon.  My friend, her husband, my husband, and a dozen other wonderful people helped prepare and serve a group of about 150.  We made my baked chicken parmesan with an Italian salad, noodles with butter, garlic and parsley, Italian bread, fruit, and cookies for dessert.

49113It went over very well.  Everyone was satisfied and we had a bit left over.  In particular were sliced red onions and artichoke quarters from the salad.  49115My friend who is in charge of the kitchen commitee let me take the small  container home so it wouldn’t go to waste and I promised her they wouldn’t.  I think I could live 49107on onions to be frank, then add artichokes and we go to an even more heavenly realm.  The fact that they were a gift…all the more gracious.

Well I kept my promise and have used them in my cooking for the last couple of days.  Today, I’m down to the last of them and it’s just me home for lunch.  Yesterday a friend came by after eating at a Chinese food restaurant, and brought me some steamed rice he couldn’t finish.  Again, I told him that I would find a use for it so it wouldn’t go to waste.  I think the world is on to me about my objectionable attitude toward waste.  Even so, it was very kind of him to think of me and share…another blessing.

So now, I’m finishing my last cup of coffee for the morning, which began at 5:00.  Breakfast is long gone and I’m hungry for lunch.  When it’s just me, I tend to not cook anything, but those lovely gifts are sitting in the fridge waiting to not be wasted.  I’m getting pretty hungry so I get out the little skillet, put in a spot of olive oil, crank up the heat and begin adding the onions and artichokes first,  then some pre-cut veggies I keep around for making school lunches and stacks.  I have a part of a tomato and of a poblano pepper to dice and add.  A handful of spinach is also added and folded in as it wilts, then the rice to give it some additional heft.  I season everything with a pinch of salt, pepper, garlic powder and  some soy sauce to give it that Asian loveliness.  Finally, I go outside and grab a sprig of fresh parsley that miraculously has made it through some deeply freezing temperatures.  It tastes as if it has been soaking in orange juice.  What a surprise flavor the cold has given it!

49108Veggies could not look and smell more divine as this plate before me does.  I will eat everything on it but not before thanking God for the food, friends, and benevolence around me that nourishes my body and soul.

 

4 responses

  1. I love stir fried rice, but I am cutting carbs so I will just look and drool for now!

    January 17, 2013 at 2:42 pm

    • Ha, thank you Swamp Dog! My friend who gave me the rice is off the carbs too. You could omit the rice and the veggies would still be pretty yummy.

      January 17, 2013 at 3:31 pm

  2. Gayle Friz

    What a lovely tale of fun and food! Thank you for all your work and delicious labors of love! The meal was wonderful. I love how you use every bit of food. And you are a great spinner of tales!

    January 18, 2013 at 12:18 am

  3. You Gayle are a great maker of V/8 sauce, I used the one you gave us on a pizza today. YUMMY! Thank you!

    January 18, 2013 at 9:48 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

