A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Puff Pastry On The Fly Part II

4929649295Well, Jeff indeed enjoyed his supper last night of a green salad and a meat stuffed pastry I concocted.   Then for breakfast (and while Jeff was sleeping), Julia and I enjoyed mini quiche cups made from the last night’s remaining pastry.  I used the following ingredients for the filling:

  • 4 large eggs,
  • 4 oz. (total wt.) shredded cheddar and jack cheese
  • 1/2 cup steamed broccoli cut in bits
  • 1/2 cup finely diced onion.
  • 1/8 tsp paprika
  • 1/8 tsp garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

492994930049301I folded up the remaining pastry after making our supper last night , wrapped it in plastic film, and put it in the refrigerator.  Today I unwrapped it and cut off an amount that I could use to line 12 little cups.  I cut this amount into 1″ x 1″  cubes, and rolled them out into circles a width of about 3 and 1/2 inches.  I fit each circle into the wells of a cupcake pan, then after blending all of the above ingredients together with a whisk, I spooned in just enough  of the mixture to fill the pastry shells almost to the top.  In a 400 degree oven I baked them about 25 minutes.

They sure turned out nicely!  Julia would have eaten them all if I had let her.  She has had a cold all weekend and It put my mind at ease to see her appetite return.   A good bit of snow fell during the night and while she won’t be going out too soon to make snow men and snow angels, I’m glad a hot breakfast with at least two vegetables is in her tummy.49302

6 responses

  1. Looks delicious!

    February 3, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    • Thank you, and thank you for stopping by! I must check out your site. You and I seem to have similar interests concerning DIY and thrifty solutions

      February 4, 2013 at 12:42 am

  2. I’d love a few of these.. right this minute! They turned out so cute and yummy!

    February 4, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    • Coming right up!! You are too sweet. I’m still dreaming about that surprise Champord ruffle cake you posted last week. Thanks so much!

      February 4, 2013 at 10:30 pm

  3. It looks delicious, I´ve tried to make once Puff pastry, very challenge for me…. your one looks great! 😉

    February 6, 2013 at 4:07 am

    • Thank you Katya. It’s all about butter and keeping the dough cold. If I can do it, you can do it!

      February 6, 2013 at 11:57 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

