A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Saturday Biscuit Breakfast

49351We finally got a chance to sleep in a bit today.  No double shifts, no school, no roofers, or contractors coming by with papers to sign…just nothing.   Well, darned if my body clock doesn’t dictate no sleeping past 7 am.  While everyone else was still in the sack, I thought I’d play around in the kitchen.  I made some coffee, then scouted around for something easy yet tasty to make for all of us and this is what happened.

I had some biscuit mix in the pantry that only requires cold milk to make a little over a dozen biscuits.  I had some cheese in the ‘fridge that I grated, some ham that I diced into very tiny cubes.  The measurements are as follows and I heated the oven to 450°

  • 2 and 1/4 cup biscuit mix
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 cup shredded cheese (mozzarella and cheddar mixed)
  • 1/2 cup  ham in tiny dice (smoked turkey or chicken could also work)
  • flour for dusting

In a mixing bowl I poured the biscuit mix and added the cheese and ham.  I tossed it around with a fork to coat it all in mix, added the milk and stirred it until all the mix was incorporated.  On the counter I sprinkled a little flour and shaped the dough into a square about 10′ x 10′.  With a long knife I cut the dough into 16 little squares and placed them on a baking stone.  They baked for 20 minutes until they were nice and golden brown.

By this time everyone was awoken by the smell of freshly baked biscuits with hints of the other yummy ingredients.  We soon were all around the breakfast talking about what we should do with ourselves all day.49356

I'd love to read your thoughts.

