A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Meatloaf That’s More Veggie Than Meat

49402My husband LOVES meatloaf and it is an easy dish to make especially when it is his birthday.  Heck, I’ll even throw in some mashed potatoes and gravy to celebrate.  If that is all he asks, then I’m off of a big hook…I hate to shop and he is really hard to shop for.  That is to say, I don’t know what the latest is in Ham radio equipment, linears, and antennae, plus that stuff is really expensive.  So meatloaf it is.  (whew!)

With the following ingredients I start chopping and dicing and preheating the oven to 350°:

  • 494061 small Yukon Gold potato in tiny cubes
  • 1 rib of celery thinly sliced
  • 1 good size carrot in tiny cubes
  • 1/4 of a leek thinly sliced (about 1/3 cup
  • 1 onion finely diced
  • 1 clove garlic, pulverized to paste
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 cup each of rolled oats and bread crumbs
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon steak sauce (A1)
  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • a mixture of 1 can tomato paste and a splash of tomato juice

49408Once the vegetables are chopped and diced, I put them in a skillet with the olive oil and let them cook until the onions are clear and everything is beginning to soften.  I remove this from the stove, put the mixture in a pie plate to cool about 15 49409minutes, then add the oats and bread crumbs and all the rest of the ingredients except the tomato paste mixture.  Then comes the fun part…squishing it all together with your bare hands.  This must be done until everything sticks together and can be transferred to a loaf pan.  I smooth out the top with a spoon taking care to squeeze it into the corners and make it as level as possible.

49411I bake the meatloaf about an hour, then take it out, spread on the tomato paste mixture, and bake it another 15 minutes.  When done, this must rest for a good 15 minutes before slicing.  With a plastic bag over my hand, I am able to transfer the loaf from the pan to a platter without messing up the topping but I have to do this quickly, carefully,  and right over the platter.  Having this flexible non-stick silicone loaf pan really helps.

The mashed potatoes are quickly made with precooked potatoes, milk, butter and salt in a saucepan and mashed with a potato masher.  I used a packet of brown gravy mix to make the gravy.  I know it’s cheating a little but not too badly.  I think using 5 raw vegetables in the meatloaf balances out the whole food equation.  I’d rather make my own but there are no pan drippings available.

49414None the less, the meal is quite enjoyable.  Each time I look up at Jeff, he is looking back at me with starry eyes.  I think he’s liking the meal a bit.  Earlier in the day Julia (enjoying her second snow day in a row) and I baked a chocolate cake for him.  After dinner we sing him a happy birthday and  enjoy yet another slice of the good life.49401

8 responses

  1. Your husband is a lucky man. HAHA! Did you see Sweet Things heart shaped meatloaf she cooked for Valentine’s Day? That makes it really romantic and special!

    February 23, 2013 at 10:20 am

  2. What is it with you guys and meatloaf? Though I love the effects, this meatloaf/romance phenomenon baffles me. I’ll have to check out Sweet Things version for some clues as to why you men go gaga over this stuff. I guess being in the shape of a heart sends a clear message 🙂 You’re a lucky man too.

    February 23, 2013 at 11:25 am

  3. Happy Birthday to the fam! I love the looks of your meatloaf. I am craving some comfort food. Take care, BAM

    February 26, 2013 at 4:19 am

    • Thank you and thank you. Hope you can satisfy your craving soon. 🙂

      February 26, 2013 at 8:00 am

  4. I Just LOVE that cake. And I must admit, I lvoe that meatloaf and I’m usually not a big fan. Love this

    February 26, 2013 at 11:29 am

    • Thank you so much Purely..Kay! The cake was a boxed mix with a recipe from Hershey’s cocoa for icing. When there are more vegetables in meatloaf than meat, it makes it really tender and tasty.

      February 26, 2013 at 6:12 pm

  5. Happy Birthday to Jeff!! What a great birthday meal and an awesome cake as well! I didn’t know it was so easy to dehydrate veggies, this is a great idea! xx

    March 5, 2013 at 11:43 pm

  6. Aw thanks! I’ll pass it on to Jeff. Dehydrated veggies are very easy to do. They really come back amazingly with all the flavor… I should have used the dehydrated onions in this meatloaf. Next time I will. You’ve inspired a new idea! I must experiment with it. XX to you too!

    March 7, 2013 at 12:38 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

