A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Just A Good Old Fashioned Chicken Dinner

If you’ve got a couple hours some evening to wait for a good old fashioned supper to land on your plate try this easy roasted chicken dinner.  One pan is all you need to make it, and if you line it with foil ( I used a previously used and washed foil cake pan), you won’t have anything to clean afterward either.  I did splurge though at the last minute and whipped up some potatoes and gravy because, well, I could.

There is no recipe, just a method and you can add the seasonings you like and the vegetables you like too.  I used leeks, carrots, and celery to surround the chicken and with a few preps of the bird dinner was soon roasting away while we watched some TV.  After this crazy busy weekend, a good easy supper (and easy blog post) is what we needed.

49502Rinse and pat the chicken dry (Nice birdie!)49503Place a few knobs of butter up under the skin of the breasts and legs.  You could also add herbs you like.  I was just being lazy.49504It looks like this when finished49505Now, because I’m feeling extra super lazy, I truss the legs together with a tooth pick instead of hunting down some string and tying them together49510Just before it goes into a 350° oven I spray everything with olive oil spray and season with salt and pepper and bake for almost two hours49516I was aiming for a temp of about 185° but this will do.  It took about one hour and fifty minutes.  Time for the plate!49520That looks nice!  Now our chicken must rest 15 minutes.  Since I got an hour and fifty minutes rest, I can find it in me to scrape together some gravy with the drippings.49519I throw a handful of flour (about two round  tablespoons), stir it  until smooth, then add salt and pepper, a dash of garlic powder and a pinch of sage powder, then I add about two to two and a half cups water and get it all to a good bubbly boil to thicken it49521That rest I took,  well I’m tired and lazy again, so I whip up the potatoes from a box of instant ones in the microwave.  There are worse things…49526…but this gorgeous juicy chicken is not one of them!49532Come Lord Jesus, be our guest.  Let this food by you be blessed.

2 responses

  1. avian101

    Excellent Mademoiselle Diva! 🙂

    March 18, 2013 at 2:37 pm

  2. Thank you Avian, you are always so kind. 🙂

    March 18, 2013 at 5:17 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

