A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

A Fresh Blast From The Past

In the heat of Summer and after a long day at work the last thing I want to do is cook.  So salads have become the new entree around our house.  Today I put together a delicious salad from some vegetables which were growing in the sun just yesterday.  The freshness of this salad was so sublime and took me back to my days of childhood, learning about how things grow, from my sweet Grandma Mary.  Today I’m blessed to have so many friends and neighbors who are willing to share the bounty of their backyard gardens.

100_8939First, I was given a cucumber my pastor and his wife grew in their garden (I work at my church), a tomato from a neighbor, a jalapeno from a friend of my husband’s, and some herbs I clipped from our own little patch…oregano and rosemary, but just a tiny snip of each.  I chopped up this collection of vegetables along with a Vidalia onion 100_8941I purchased at the produce market.  I love when Vidalia season is comes. They are among the sweetest onions available.

I sliced up all these shared goodies and placed them in a marinating container.  The marinate consisted of  2 tablespoons sugar, 1 teaspoon salt and a half teaspoon black pepper.  With all that sprinkled on the vegetables, I then added one third cup each of red wine vinegar, and extra virgin olive oil.  After stirring everything until well coated, the dish was placed in the ‘fridge until it was ready for supper…about two hours.

This salad was a typical dish my grandmother would serve when we stayed over at her Southern Illinois home in the summers of my childhood.  I thought it only fitting that I serve it in one of her old bowls…. a lovely sight I haven’t seen in years!  And the taste brought me back to those days, watching grandma tend the garden and hang laundry in the summer breeze behind her little house.100_8943

2 responses

  1. avian101

    Do you know that my wife does salad with all the ingredients except the jalapeño? She learned from my mother. What a coincidence! I love that salad, it’s so refreshing! 🙂

    July 18, 2013 at 6:38 pm

    • The cat’s out of the bag…I’m not the only one who knows you CAN actually taste summer. Thanks again for stopping by 🙂

      July 18, 2013 at 7:04 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

