A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Surf and Turf Diva Style

Once again, as a mom who is back in the work force, I find less time to cook especially the elegant meals.  I did however  prepare this salmon, portabella mushroom and fresh pea supper in about twenty minutes start to finish and I used only one skillet and a microwave container.

Now the surf was naturally the salmon but the turf was the mushroom.  With the ingredients I added to the mushroom, they tasted as rich and savory as strips of yummy steak.   The peas were in the freezer and seemed like a really quick thing to steam, dot with butter and slap on the side.  Besides, the color really balanced things out with a pleasing dash of green.

100_9054I used wild caught salmon in 4 oz fillets and placed them skin side down in a cast iron skillet coated with a couple of tablespoons of  olive oil.  I turned them over after about three minutes.  Then in medium sized bowl I prepared the marinate for the portabellas .  The 100_9059marinate consisted of 1/3 cup pinot grigio, about three tablespoons low sodium soy sauce, and a couple of tablespoons of butter.  This was warmed in the microwave for a minute until the butter melted then I tossed in the mushrooms.  They were set aside while I turned the fish and let the other side cook a minute or so.

After those minutes I added the mushrooms (and about half the marinate) and used them as a little raft for the fish, so the mushrooms could soak up the flavor of the sauce and the fish would finish off in the steam.   I let all this come to a boil just long enough to cook the mushrooms until just tender…about two minutes.   Once the fish was flaky I removed everything to a plate and pulled out my microwave steamed peas which only took a couple of minutes as well.

Everything looked lovely on the plate and tasted even better with a good seasoning of freshly ground black pepper and red pepper flakes.  No salt was needed because of the soy sauce.   You don’t really need expensive steak to be the turf of your next “surf and turf” supper, and with only one skillet to clean and just a few other dishes,  it made for a pleasant evening.100_9063

2 responses

  1. avian101

    With this kind of delicious meal I could eat it everyday and live a happy man ! Good one Diva! 🙂

    August 13, 2013 at 11:58 am

    • Aw thanks, 🙂 It made me pretty happy. I forgot to mention that it’s a little more healthy this way too.

      August 13, 2013 at 12:22 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

