A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Chicken “Pan” Pie

What do I do with all these leftovers?  This is a question I ask myself about three times a week.  In summertime I usually answer that question by making a salad.  Now that it is September and the weather has broken…that is to say it was 54° in St. Louis this morning, I feel like baking again. 100_9392

I have a leftover half of a roasted chicken, some left over portions of veggies, and a pie crust in the ‘fridge I made a couple of days 100_9400ago that I never used because it was too hot.  Today, this meal was inspired by all these variables serendipitously becoming available… especially the cooler weather.

The crust is an easy home made one that takes no time to whip up and the filling to this “chicken pan pie” is a mixture of sauteed vegetables including:

  • One red onion peeled, halved, and thinly sliced
  • 2 ribs of celery in tiny dice
  • 2 medium carrots peeled and thinly sliced with the peeler
  • a small head of broccoli well chopped
  • 1/3 cup frozen green beans cut in half inch pieces
  • 1/3 cup frozen peas

I decided to put the crust into a well seasoned 9″ cast iron skillet.   It has a good depth for all these vegetables as well as several other advantages.  I made enough dough for a top and bottom crust.

100_9403In a large non-stick skillet I cooked all these chopped veggies in about 2 tablespoons of olive oil.  Once the veggies began to brown up nicely, I put them off to the side in a bowl.  I then sprinkled about 1/4 cup all purpose flour over the chicken pieces and 100_9406tossed it around in another bowl.  With the chicken well coated in flour, I dumped it into my skillet with a knob of butter and stirred it around to get the chicken warmed.  In the bowl the chicken was in I made a slurry of  an additional 1/2 cup flour, 1/cup water, 1/4 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper.  I poured that in the skillet, stirring until all the  sauce thickened then added the veggies back in and continued stirring until everything was well mixed.

Everything was added to the pie crust I prepared earlier in the pan.  I quickly rolled out the top crust, placed it over the chicken and veggies, crimped the edges together, made deep slits to vent steam while baking, and put it into a preheated 400° oven for 35 minutes or so.  When the crust was golden brown on the edges I knew the pie would be done nicely.

I chose a cast iron skillet to bake for several reasons:  Cooking in cast iron actually adds iron to your diet, it has a handle for easy removal from the oven, and being a very dark color 100_9407helps the crust become very crispy on the bottom.  That is a big plus when you are baking a pie with a highly liquid filling.  I take every opportunity to use my cast iron ware because the more it is used, the more non-stick it becomes.  A well seasoned 100_9409skillet makes for an easy clean-up.   After a while cast iron can almost be wiped clean.  I found this one at a rummage sale and the seasoning work was already done.  I love that it was only a dollar.  The food I cook in it comes out tasting like a million bucks! 100_9418100_9416

5 responses

  1. avian101

    You’re so good Diva! I’m not trying to be patronizing, I really mean it! Thanks! 🙂

    September 3, 2013 at 10:57 pm

  2. Lovely! I love my cast iron too. I use my double cast iron to bake bread and do so many thing with but never use it for pie. This will be next…thanks

    September 16, 2013 at 12:38 am

    • Thank you Ms. Gourmet! I keep forgetting you can bake bread with it. Bread is next form me. 🙂

      September 16, 2013 at 11:59 pm

      • Buy Chad Robertson (Tartine Bakery in SF) Bread book and you will have more fun with your cast iron. I’m going to make a Massaman (one type of Thai curry) curry pie in it!…Thanks a lot. If I decide to post that recipe, I will link to your blog as my inspiration 🙂

        September 17, 2013 at 6:31 pm

      • Aaa! My son has that book! It’s great. He lives in Chicago now and bakes professionally at The Little Goat. Can’t wait to see that curry pie creation. Love curry anything…YOU are the inspiration 🙂

        September 18, 2013 at 9:21 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

