A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

After Work, Let’s Eat and Watch the Cardinals Win Again!

100_9558It is a busy morning getting hubby off to work, my daughter off to school, and myself off to work as well.  So this means making breakfast for every one, making lunch for my daughter and I (where hubby works they serve lunch), so I thought to insure a 100_9560relaxing evening (which I will definitely need) I’ll just get dinner going too.

100_9561All I do is throw in about 6 cut up carrots and 5 potatoes in chunks, and two nice pieces of chuck eye into the crock pot.  I add some minced garlic, some dehydrated onions, cut up sprigs of chives, salt, pepper, about a teaspoon of Italian seasoning and a whole can of beer.  It feels kind of weird cracking open a beer at 8:00 a.m. then going off to work in a church, but hey!  I throw the can in the recycling bin, put the lid on the pot, turn it to LOW, pet the kitty good bye and take off in my trusty old ’78 Ford pick-up

100_9575Working at a church is one of the most exciting and enjoyable jobs I’ve ever had.  You wouldn’t think it could be but there are many facets involved in running a church.  The team of wonderful people I work with help manage these facets with  knowledge, kindness, patience, and love…and I love and trust each of them beyond measure.   I’m one of two secretaries at our church and Friday is the busiest day dealing with some of those facets plus making sure the Sunday bulletin and all of its information for the service are put together with several hundred copies printed before 10:00 a.m.

With its dozens of ministries and hundreds of people who turn to the church for help and answers, I never know what to expect  when I answer the phone.  Often it’s just a member needing to know another member’s phone number, or what time the such and such meeting is, but sometimes it is a person who needs someone to pray with or a person who needs help with a personal problem.  There are even some times when it gets weird.  Angry and desperate people can be very unpredictable but even those people need a place to turn.  A church is a good place. 100_9566

There is a graveyard adjacent to the church with graves from as far back as 1843 and occasionally I get a call from someone looking for an ancestor to fill in their genealogical gaps.  This is my favorite part of the job. Since our church is 170 years old there is a lot of exciting history to which I have access allowing me to answer some of those questions or at least guide people to a place they can get more information. Church records are a great source for birth names and dates, marriages and deaths of whole families.  It is very satisfying work exploring the old files and helping locate someone’s relatives from the 1800’s

So, after a long day of connecting people, meeting deadlines, dotting I’s and crossing T’s, I’m so glad I decided to make dinner before I left the house.  When I come home, hubby and daughter are waiting for me with the table already set.  All we need to do is thank our dear Lord for what he provides and tuck on in to a bowl of delicious stew.  The meat  and vegetables are so tender, it only takes a spoon to cut everything up, and of course drink the tasty broth.100_9574   On a cool October evening this ready made meal does a great job warming us all up inside and out.  Now we’re ready to relax and watch the Cardinals play some NLCS baseball.

3 responses

  1. avian101

    Diva, I have a question, how many recipes do you know? You’re good lady! Please write a book! 🙂

    October 14, 2013 at 10:41 am

    • I only know a recipe when I know what’s on sale at the grocery store…Could that mean I know a lot? Hm..

      You’re a good man too A…always saying such nice things. Many blessings to you and your family 🙂

      October 15, 2013 at 9:59 am

      • avian101

        I appreciate that, many blessings for yours too! 🙂

        October 15, 2013 at 6:02 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

