A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

The Day After

After hosting Thanksgiving dinner for a group of 25 you can imagine the leftovers.  My secret to dealing with Thanksgiving leftovers is GIVE EVERYTHING AWAY!  When100_9744 each of five pies makes about 10 pieces, every guest  must leave with at least one piece.  This year we had a lot of college age guests to take extra turkey, green beans and potatoes off our hands.  They are always on the go and never seem to have food in the ‘fridge, so they seem to appreciate it.

100_9745Even in the days after, there are fruits that need to be either eaten or prepared in some way.  I had some pears in their prime of ripeness over the holiday.  No one ate them that night but the next morning they became a tasty breakfast tart made from a ball of pie dough I didn’get around to using.  Since there are still some guests around it was an easy way to use up a good fruit and make it even more special without much effort.

Turkey sandwiches will fill in the cracks and we will reheat everything tonight… the green beans and dressing and gravy for “Thanksgiving Round II”. This good meal will serve to send the out of town relatives off with a full tummy and memories of another enjoyable visit.  I wish I could send even more food off with them.  I wonder if sweet potato pie can get through security at the airport?

 

 

2 responses

  1. avian101

    I don’t want to see any more food ’til next year! I promise not to eat for a month… I want my Mommy! 🙂

    November 30, 2013 at 2:46 pm

    • Must have been a big Turkey! You can always walk it off shooting wild turkeys…with your camera 🙂

      November 30, 2013 at 11:29 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

