A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Best Mac and Cheese Ever

Marconi and cheese is the favorite food of my daughter.  I used to make it from the little blue box mix until I read the list of no less than twenty ingredients, not including the milk and butter you add which are probably the most natural things in it.  Today I made mine with only fourteen.  To be fair the macaroni contained seven of those 100_0402ingredients.

So to make a rich, tasty, creamy and REAL sauce only seven things are required

  • 100_04032 tablespoons flour
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 1 cup water
  • 4 oz shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 tablespoon Parmesan cheese
  • salt to taste (I used about a teaspoon total)

100_0407I start by boiling 1/2 pound of macaroni noodles in  plain water for 12 minutes and set it aside to 100_0410drain.    Then I melt the butter add the flour and cook it together in a nice heavy sauce pan.  Once this forms a pasty bubbly mixture I slowly add cream and stir constantly with a whisk.  Adding the cup of water, I lower the heat to medium and stir until it comes back to a boil and thickens into a creamy 100_0411bechemel sauce.  Salt is added to taste, then the cheeses (I grate my own cheese to leave out the anti-caking ingredients) and the sauce is whisked again until the cheeses are completely melted.

Now,  the drained noodles go into to the creamy sauce and are stirred together until every noodle is coated.  I check the 100_0412seasoning, add another pinch of salt and it is ready to eat.

Admittedly this is a pretty decadent comfort food.  I don’t make it often but my daughter was craving it.  Since she’s such a peanut I gave her a nice big bowl of it for lunch.   I feel so much better about it when the ingredients are real and wholesome.  Not only that but lunch included a side salad of home grown lettuce and tomatoes with a sprinkle of the grated cheese and dressed with lemon juice and pepper.  I don’t think I’m putting anyone in danger of malnourishment…not on this diva’s watch!  100_0415100_0417

4 responses

  1. avian101

    I haven’t eaten that in many years! Thanks for reminding me! That would fill anybody, it’s power food! 🙂

    June 30, 2014 at 11:35 am

    • Yes, along with the comfort we had the power afterward to offload a yard of mulch and spread it all around the backyard. This meal was the fuel for sure!

      June 30, 2014 at 11:40 am

  2. Homemade Mac & Cheese is always better and your recipe is the only way to make Mac & Cheese!! Making the roux really makes the difference. Your Mac & Cheese looks delicious, I could eat a big bowl right now!! 🙂

    I linked over to your site from another and I enjoyed visiting! Lots of great recipes and excellent pictures too! Check out my site sometime if you get time! Recent post, Caramel Pie! http://michaelswoodcraft.wordpress.com/2014/06/29/ooey-gooey/

    June 30, 2014 at 9:23 pm

    • Hey thanks Michael’s Woodcraft! I appreciate all the nice things you said. Sorry about the slow response, It’s been a busy summer. I have checked out your site and you have some delicious recipes too. The Caramel Pie is a good one!

      Now that the tomatoes are coming in I need to do a homegrown tomato series. Stay tuned!

      July 22, 2014 at 12:21 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

