A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Aioli!

100_0419The tomatoes are ripening on the vines like crazy this year and I’m up to my ears in those yummy ripe summer fruits.  One of the things I wait all year for is a fresh tomato and mayonnaise sandwich.  I wanted to make one today that would be more than special and made my own mayonnaise or “aioli”.  To begin I gathered some extremely fresh ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • one farm fresh organic egg
  • 1 section of garlic
  • the juice of one lime
  • salt and black pepper to taste100_0421
  • 1 good size leaf of basil
  • a pinch of sugar
  •  a splash of vinegar

In a tiny food processor I cracked a tiny egg that was no more than a day old and refrigerated immediately after being laid by a healthy free-range hen (temper your eggs in a double boiler if you are worried).  Next I added a two teaspoons olive oil and blended it with the egg in a few pulses.  I did this several times adding a bit more with each blending.  It was a creamy mixture so I began to add vegetable oil pulsing between 100_0423additions until just under 1/2 cup was used.  I now had a thickened and paler colored emulsification that needed some flavor.  I pulsed in the rest of the ingredients in one at a time to make a rich blend of flavors.  The basil I used was a variety called “Lettuce Leaf ”

100_0426So now, what to put it on?  Well there’s only two window sills full of the ripest juiciest tomatoes you could wish for, so I grabbed the prettiest one, sliced it, toasted a bagel and spread it with this beautiful rich aioli.  It was like eating a slice of paradise! 100_0430100_0431

 

2 responses

  1. avian101

    I’d love eat that for breakfast! Glad to here from you Diva! Are you ok? 🙂

    July 22, 2014 at 5:56 pm

    • Always good to hear from you too. I haven’t been blogging as much but I do still cook every day. Summer has been VERY busy with kids and work. Thankfully health is good for everyone. Must be from the pace we keep, those fresh eggs and homegrown tomatoes. Take care.

      July 23, 2014 at 9:22 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

