A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Grilled Rib-Eye Dinner, No Sweat

Summer and cooking indoors are two things that are a bit tricky to mix.  The grill has become my new BFF for the past several weeks, along with small appliances in the household.  The last thing I want to do is crank up the oven when the temps are in the 90’s!  This post is all about keeping the diva cool!

The perfect summer meal never requires flame unless it’s lit outside and I found a way to make perfect corn on the cob in the microwave.  A freshly sliced vine ripened tomato is always a great side in the summer as well.

100_0612I found Rib-Eye steaks on sale at the supermarket and they were nicely marbled to ensure great flavor.  A light rub of olive oil and  a quick sprinkle of salt pepper and a pinch of Cajun seasoning was all the steaks needed before placing them on a clean and very hot grill.  I gave the steaks a quarter turn after about two minutes and let them sear away another two minutes 100_0615before flipping them over to reveal those classic cross-hatched grill marks.  The other side received the same treatment and the flame was turned shut off.  They stayed on the cooling grill to rest while I went inside to address the corn.

There wasn’t much involved here.  I simply put all four ears, husk and all in microwave and cooked them on high for seven minutes…just enough time to let the steaks rest and choose a great tomato to slice and serve on the side.

I went out to get the steaks which looked and smelled divine.  A plate of glistening ruby red tomato slices were ready and the corn had a few minutes to continue steaming in their husks.  To get the corn ready for the plates, I got a sharp knife, cut the bottom inch off and squeezed the perfectly done cob out of the open end…not one strand of corn silk to be seen.  I’ve never made an easier or more sumptuous supper.  Even though the temperature was in the mid nineties, I never even broke a sweat.  It just didn’t seem right for it to taste so good…but boy it did. 100_0619100_0622

4 responses

  1. avian101

    That rib-eye steak looks delicious! Thanks Diva for making my mouth water! 🙂

    August 24, 2014 at 5:46 pm

    • Oh yes, nothing like the flavor of a rib-eye right off the grill! Big YUM! 🙂

      August 26, 2014 at 8:49 am

  2. Hey, how about an invite over for that dinner sometime? You could have cooked the corn on the grill as well, I like mine that way. Just peel back the shuck, remove the silks, rub the corn with butter, salt and pepper and some of that cajun seasoning, recover with the shucks and place on the grill for about 5 minutes then perfection!

    August 24, 2014 at 8:42 pm

    • Hey Double B! You and Sweet Thing are invited any time. I’ll put you on corn duty. I do love grilled corn too. However, I saw this new method on-line and had to try it…the set it and forget it factor is always alluring to me. Good to hear from you 🙂

      August 26, 2014 at 8:46 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

