A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Fried Potatoes Done Right

Have you ever had potatoes that seemed to drip with grease?  Have you had them so overcooked that the inside is nearly hollow?  To strike a balance there are a few tricks this diva has up her sleeve.  I like to make potatoes in one inch nuggets but 1/4 inch fries work as well.  About 1 medium russet potato will make 1 cup of potato chunks (or fries).  In this recipe I used four, making four one cup servings.

The first trick is to par-boil the potatoes. They should be able to bend a bit but still have some snap to them.

The next step is to refrigerate them over-night or even freeze them but thaw them completely before frying if they are chunks.

100_0881When you are ready to fry, toss them in a large bowl and wet them on all sides with vinegar. I used cider vinegar.  They should stay wet for about 20 minutes to let the surface soak it in a bit.  There are scientifics to what the vinegar does to the starch molecules but I’ll just say that it makes the exterior very nicely crispy while keeping the interior soft and creamy.

100_0882Next you will need to heat the oil.   I used a skillet with oil about an inch deep and did two batches of prepared potatoes in it.(two cups at a time of potato chunks).  I don’t take a temperature but I know the oil is hot enough when the end of a wooden spoon dipped in the oil for a few seconds will make fine little bubbles around it.

100_0883

 

 

Drain off all the vinegar you can and carefully lower the potatoes in the oil with a large bowled slotted spoon.  They should start to fry and bubble immediately.  Let this go on until they potatoes are a beautiful golden brown color then remove them to a plate lined with paper toweling to drain off excess oil.  Salt them while they are piping hot, allow them to cool slightly after giving them a toss or tow and enjoy some fried potatoes done just right!

7 responses

  1. I’ve never heard of par boiling potatoes prior to frying. I’m going to get Sweet Thing to try that next time. I can hear it now, “I know how to fry potatoes I’ve been doing it all my life!”

    November 23, 2014 at 6:30 pm

    • I’ve been frying potatoes all my life too Doubleb and par-boiling along with the vinegar, I’ve discovered, really makes them crispy stay crispy for much longer. I’m sure Sweet Thing has a trick or two up her sleeve in cooking methods as well. Wishing you two a very happy Thanksgiving!

      November 24, 2014 at 11:51 am

  2. avian101

    That’s a great tip Diva! We’ll try it ASAP! My best wishes for you and family! 🙂

    November 29, 2014 at 10:15 am

    • When is a bad time for fried potatoes (besides when on a diet…pshhh)? Best to you and yours as well. 🙂

      December 4, 2014 at 8:00 pm

      • avian101

        I had those fried potatoes with our beef today if you wanted to know (What a coincidence) We loved them fried looking golden outside and soft inside. Next time I’ll try them pickled with cider vinegar instead of white vinegar to make a comparison. Thank you Diva again! 🙂

        December 4, 2014 at 11:20 pm

      • That’s great! The British use malt vinegar on their “chips” and that’s very good too.

        December 4, 2014 at 11:39 pm

      • avian101

        I heard of soaking them in beer too! Thanks! 🙂

        December 5, 2014 at 11:22 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

