A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Mid-size Muffins

100_0921Muffin tins come in generally three sizes; mini, standard, and large, but I want a muffin that is at least two bites worth.  Minis don’t do it and standard makes me feel guilty if I decide to eat two.  Forget large.  I don’t think a giant muffin is a good idea at all for this diva!  A solution came to me when I ran out of mini muffin paper cups….a solution which doesn’t require scrubbing out 24 compartments of a mini muffin pan plus will yield 24 muffins of just the right size…mid-size.

100_0929Using three sheets of parchment paper cut into 8 rectangular sheets approximately 3″ x 4″, I made little cones then folded the tips down so the fold was equal to the diameter of the wells in the mini-muffin tin (well, mine is made of silicone).  I nestled the 100_0924cone down into each well and seated each with my fingertips so the bottom would be as flat as possible.

Now, what to put into these mid size cups?  I glanced at the counter by the toaster and there sat this lonely over-ripe banana just wasting away.  This banana though was the perfect ripeness to make a great banana bread.  A banana as ripe as this one has all the flavor needed to make a great batter.  It takes a bit of near fermentation to give off strong flavors.  Now if there is mold, don’t go there.  With just one of these ready to use bananas, I had to make a half batch of batter.  This turned out fine because it was just the right amount to fill 24 mid-size cups.

100_0930I pre-heated the oven to 350° first, then the batter was made using these ingredients:

  • the aging banana
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 and 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup milk plus 1 tablespoon
  • 2 and 1/2 cups flour.
  • a handful or two of walnuts (optional)

100_0931100_0932100_0933With the exception of the flour, mix all the other ingredients in a mixing bowl until the banana is well liquefied.  Add the flour and mix with a fork or on low speed just until the flour is incorporated.  STOP mixing at that point.  This should take thirty seconds or less with the mixer or about 50 strokes with a fork.  Mixing any longer will make the muffin tough and not rise as much when baked.

100_0935100_0936100_0937About the nuts: In my family there are two kinds of people.  Those who don’t like nuts and me.  So when it came to adding the nuts,  I used the large portion of batter to make muffins without and when there was enough left for a few more muffins I threw a handful of walnuts in the remaining batter and folded them in.

100_0939My mid-size muffins baked for exactly 37 minutes and I tested one with a toothpick.  It came out clean as a whistle which meant they were done.  They turned  out to be a light fluffy muffin with a tinge of golden brown on top.  If I had added oil this may have even become more brown but having a yummy treat with as much fat as what 1/24th of an egg can yield appeals to me as much as the satisfying TWO bites worth of muffin..  If I had made standard sized muffins I’d be tempted to eat two, but this just right mid-size works out great…especially if I do decide to have another one.

Once these were on a platter they made for a presentation fit for a diva!

100_0940

4 responses

  1. avian101

    Another fantastic idea Diva! Thank you! By the way, our fries are deliciously fried… And the cheesecake was a wonderful success, our friends were totally delighted by it and they asked for the recipe! Thank you again! Have wonderful and Happy Holidays with your family! 🙂

    December 20, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    • Aw, Thanks! I’m flattered and hope you are enjoying your holidays with your family too

      December 20, 2014 at 7:36 pm

  2. Joe

    Looks delicious.

    December 21, 2014 at 5:11 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

