A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Fast Food Homestyle

If you are in a hurry and want a very good meal, one with lots of flavor and nutrition then I urge you to try a quickie like this.   This is my go to dish when I work late and come home to my poor hungry family huddled on the couch looking up at me with their Precious Moments eyes pleading to be fed.  Cape waving, back-lit by the setting in the doorway I, the super-hero-diva of this scene put my purse and the mail down and dash straight to work 100_1061saving them from the brink of starvation.  I gather my tools and a few ingredients and get straight work on my rescue mission:

  • a pound of boneless skinless chicken breasts, trimmed into evenly thick cutlets
  • a bag of frozen broccoli
  • a can of cream of celery soup.
  • salt, pepper, onion powder and paprika
  • olive oil
  • a splash of milk

To prepare the chicken I tenderize it by pouring a generous amount of salt on both sides.  In lieu of brining this salt sort of flash brines the chicken while I get all the other ingredients, and equipment ready.  In about five minutes I have my skillet, tongs for turning the meat and a spoon for stirring ready.  I get the broccoli out of the freezer, a can of soup from the cupboard, and  n a skillet I drizzle a tablespoon or so of olive oil.

100_1063100_1065Chicken breasts easily dry out when cooked so the salt, which is now rinsed off has done its job to help keep moisture in.  I pat it dry with paper toweling and carefully place it in the now hot oil.

100_1066The chicken gets sprinkled with a fair amount of pepper, onion powder and paprika, I give it a turn and treat the other side the same.  This sears a while on both sides then the broccoli is added, then the soup and a good splash of milk.  A lid goes on top for about fifteen minutes so the broccoli cooks and the soup and milk get nice and bubbly.  The chicken should be done now so I 100_1068pull it up off the bottom and let the vegetables get mixed up in the sauce.  The lid goes on for another five minutes or so then dinner is served.

I’m now just a mild mannered diva having dinner with my family.  I’m so grateful for them and for all the convenience that fills our lives.  We know nothing close to starvation.  In only thirty minutes I have a nourishing hot meal on the table.  It was very affordable too.  And though they were a little bit hungry when I got home, now that we are all sharing a meal together, I see that they are grateful for me too.  Life is good.100_1069

 

 

2 responses

  1. avian101

    We’re going to try this dish one day next week! Thanks Diva! 🙂

    January 24, 2015 at 7:10 pm

    • Thanks Avian. If you have a busy week this will help. It sure helped me.

      January 25, 2015 at 12:43 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

