A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

If You’re Busy, Try This

Man I have been busy!  I haven’t been able to blog much as over the summer I have been a part of all the Holy Sacraments according to the Catholic Church.  Even though it’s not a sacrament, our summer started with my husband changing jobs.  After the month long transition process my mother was given Last Rites just before passing.  My daughter then decided she wanted to be baptized. My other daughter was married weeks after that. These were a much needed joyous occasions.  We took communion the first Sunday of each month as usual and now the one baptized is preparing for Confirmation.  I love my Catholic roots but find myself in an Evangelical Free church both as worker and worshiper nowadays.  Both family and church family have helped me greatly through the ups and downs of summer .

Summer, as far as cooking, was spent either at the grill or on autopilot going over some of the hundreds of recipes already in this blog.

Now that it’s autumn and Jeff and I celebrated our 14th anniversary I’m ready to leave a crazy season behind and get back into my diva groove.  It’s good to be back even though I’ve got to start with the “quick and easy” recipes.  By Thanksgiving I hope to get more elaborate.

Quick and easy doesn’t mean it won’t be good and tasty!  Complexity doesn’t necessarily have to take all day.  With these ingredients you’ll see why:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 each, red, yellow and green bell pepper sliced in lengthwise strips100_1460
  • 1 red onion, thinly sliced from pole to pole
  • 1 Turkey Polska Kielbasa Sausage cut in 1 cm slices on the diagonal
  • 1/2 can chunk pineapple (half the juice too) equaling about 1 cup
  • 2 tablespoons apricot preserves, or hot pepper jelly, or a combination of both
  • 2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
  • a pinch each of garlic powder and crushed red pepper flakes
  • a handful of leaves of escarole lettuce, roughly choped
  • Salt and pepper to taste

100_1456In a large skillet pour in your olive oil and when it’s nice and hot add the onions and peppers.  Stir them around until the edges turn golden brown.  Add in the sausage and keep stirring.  When the vegetables get quite brown, pour in the soy sauce, the pineapple and juice to deglaze.  spoon in the preserves and/or pepper jelly (I used equal amounts of both). Let it melt in, reduce and thicken to an unctuous sweet and savory sauce.  Add the last three ingredients to season and you are ready.  Double the recipe to feed a crowd of 6 to 8.  You can get this dish done in less than 30 minutes so try this when ever you are on the go or get home late or just plain don’t want to be on your feet in the kitchen.  Prop those dogs up and enjoy a movie with the family. 100_1458

4 responses

  1. Awesome recipe! x

    October 6, 2015 at 1:06 pm

  2. avian101

    I’m so sorry to hear about your Mom. You’re right, you’ve had busy few months and your daily life changed so much. As always you have a terrific recipe that I will definitely try. Thank you Diva! 🙂

    October 6, 2015 at 11:16 pm

I'd love to read your thoughts.

