A site for sore tastebuds and a woeful wallet

Oven Fried Catfish with Homemade Tartar Sauce

I dread frying anything for two reasons.  One, the calories; even though back in my restaurant employment days the executive chef told me over and over, “Fat equals flavor.”  He wasn’t lying but I found a way around that conundrum in this recipe.

The second reason for my disinclination is the greasy mess to clean up in the end.  Why not contain the mess in a pan rather than wipe down a multitude of surfaces including the range hood.  I can do without all the acrobatics this late in the evening.

100_1468A while ago I found a super deal on catfish nuggets at the store.  It was locally caught and freshly frozen…I could tell, so I jumped on a five pound bag of those babies.  About one and a half pounds were gently thawed in the microwave then placed in a container of milk to soak.  In the food processor I pulsed about a cup of corn bread stuffing mix with a tablespoon of butter and a glug or two of olive oil.  I added another 2/3 cup of crispy panko 100_1469breadcrumbs into a large enough plastic bag where I combined all the crumbs.  The fish was dropped into the bag in batches and shook until well coated then laid out skin-side-down in a baking pan (and a pie plate because there was more than I thought).

With an oven preheated to 450°F, I let the fish bake for about 25 minutes.  Without the fuss of turning and possibly getting burned from popping grease, I removed the fish from the oven and let them cool down slightly.

While they cooled I quickly whipped up a tasty tartar sauce to accompany this crispy delight with the following:

  • 100_14784 round tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1 tbsp tarragon, freshly chopped
  • 1 tbsp finely minced red onion
  • 1 tbsp sweet pickle relish
  • salt and pepper to taste

As I plated up dishes for the family the fish was very delicate and flaky, not over greasy.  Because of the butter and oil I added to the crumbs, they toasted up nicely and tasted like grandma’s deep south recipe; all the flavor of fried fish.  As a bonus this diva doesn’t have to worry about an extra 120 or so calories.  It’s been a good day.

100_1481

5 responses

  1. No, no, no! Catfish MUST be deep fried. Cut your calories somewhere else, it is almost sac religious to bake catfish. That is what cakes and pies are for.

    October 29, 2015 at 10:19 am

    • Your southern charm gave me a great chuckle dear double b. I admit the idea came from sheer apathy. Frying is messy business even though the taste can’t be beat. I also have to admit, it was darn tasty and there wasn’t even any fish to clean up.

      October 30, 2015 at 8:28 pm

  2. Yay! Catfish!

    November 7, 2015 at 6:33 pm

    • Yay indeed! Thanks for stopping by Miss Dinie 🙂

      November 16, 2015 at 4:47 pm

      • You’re welcome!

        November 17, 2015 at 5:52 am

I'd love to read your thoughts.

